How can a linux mint ping another linux mint on a subnet?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
arminius
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:09 am

How can a linux mint ping another linux mint on a subnet?

Post by arminius » Mon Sep 09, 2019 10:36 am

So I'm trying to access an Apache web server running on one Linux mint computer, from another Linux mint computer.
And the access is currently impossible for some reason, so I'm wondering if I can even get a ping past my router which I suspect is the culprit.

No matter what I try I keep getting "This site can’t be reached"
So how can I ping all computers on my subnet?

Pippin
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 287
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:14 am
Location: NL/DE/TH

Re: How can a linux mint ping another linux mint on a subnet?

Post by Pippin » Mon Sep 09, 2019 10:39 am

Need more info.
Draw your network topology and post it here.
Everything is electric.

arminius
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:09 am

Re: How can a linux mint ping another linux mint on a subnet?

Post by arminius » Mon Sep 09, 2019 10:49 am

ROUTER------Linux Mint Laptop
------Linux Mint PC
------Android phone
------ Google home mini
------ PS4

I really just want the first two to ping each other.

User avatar
Larry78723
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1545
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 7:01 pm
Location: Jasper County, SC, USA

Re: How can a linux mint ping another linux mint on a subnet?

Post by Larry78723 » Mon Sep 09, 2019 10:53 am

How about giving us the ip's for each?
Image

arminius
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:09 am

Re: How can a linux mint ping another linux mint on a subnet?

Post by arminius » Mon Sep 09, 2019 10:56 am

Larry78723 wrote:
Mon Sep 09, 2019 10:53 am
How about giving us the ip's for each?
laptops is 192.168.1.12
PC's is 192.168.1.13

User avatar
Larry78723
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1545
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 7:01 pm
Location: Jasper County, SC, USA

Re: How can a linux mint ping another linux mint on a subnet?

Post by Larry78723 » Mon Sep 09, 2019 11:08 am

To ping 192.168.1.12 from the PC open a terminal and enter the following command:

Code: Select all

ping -c10 192.168.1.12
The -c10 parameter tells it to ping 10 times and post the statistics. To ping the PC from the laptop, just change the ip.
Image

arminius
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:09 am

Re: How can a linux mint ping another linux mint on a subnet?

Post by arminius » Mon Sep 09, 2019 11:15 am

user@Comp:~$ ping -c10 192.168.1.12
PING 192.168.1.12 (192.168.1.12) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 192.168.1.12: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=125 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.12: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=147 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.12: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=169 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.12: icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=193 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.12: icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 time=114 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.12: icmp_seq=6 ttl=64 time=33.9 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.12: icmp_seq=7 ttl=64 time=158 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.12: icmp_seq=8 ttl=64 time=78.7 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.12: icmp_seq=9 ttl=64 time=305 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.12: icmp_seq=10 ttl=64 time=124 ms

--- 192.168.1.12 ping statistics ---
10 packets transmitted, 10 received, 0% packet loss, time 9011ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 33.910/145.226/305.627/68.817 ms

Pippin
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 287
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:14 am
Location: NL/DE/TH

Re: How can a linux mint ping another linux mint on a subnet?

Post by Pippin » Mon Sep 09, 2019 12:21 pm

These two hosts are on the same subnet so the router is not involved, in other words they communicate directly.
Ping is succesfull, have you tried to disable the firewall of the host running Apache?
Otherwise fix Apache.
Everything is electric.

arminius
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:09 am

Re: How can a linux mint ping another linux mint on a subnet?

Post by arminius » Mon Sep 09, 2019 9:48 pm

No I haven't touched the firewall of the host, its ufw by the way.
The only thing I've changed on the apache server is the "/var/www/html/index.html", the settings for both the server and the firewall should still be factory default I assume.
I'll try turning off the firewall.

arminius
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:09 am

Re: How can a linux mint ping another linux mint on a subnet?

Post by arminius » Mon Sep 09, 2019 9:56 pm

I installed Gufw on both, and I confirmed the firewall was off on both.
still getting "This site can’t be reached" on the Linux mint that is not the host.
So I'm stumped.
Were you saying I should try resetting Apache?

arminius
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:09 am

Re: How can a linux mint ping another linux mint on a subnet?

Post by arminius » Mon Sep 09, 2019 9:59 pm

Does Apache Server have to be on both?
I assumed it only has to be on the host?

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”