"glitchy" mouse pointer

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
MajikTim
Level 1
Level 1

"glitchy" mouse pointer

Post by MajikTim »

First off, I am new to Linux as well as Mint, so please forgive my ignorance. From what I have read, I may be in the right place.

I installed Mint 19.2 on an ASUS laptop. It seemed to work just fine until I plugged in my extra monitor and now my mouse pointer or cursor is blinking and moving all over. It is very difficult to highlight text to copy, or even just to click in the right spot on the screen. Yes, it still did it after unplugging the 2nd monitor and rebooting. All updates have been installed through the Mint Software Updater. During a quick Google search I found how to pull my hardware query to an html doc. See below for the laptop model.

I am guessing a graphics problem, but really don't know, or know how to go about troubleshooting this. This has Intel onboard graphics. Any help is appreciated. Thank you in advance!
Magically,
Tim

id: tim-asus
description: Notebook
product: X540SA (ASUS-NotebookSKU)
vendor: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC.
version: 1.0
serial: G6N0GR01D332244
width: 64 bits
capabilities: smbios-2.8 dmi-2.8 smp vsyscall32
configuration:
boot = normal
chassis = notebook
family = X
sku = ASUS-NotebookSKU
uuid = CDAC9604-2FE9-42E1-BDB4-D2CA950E1B1B
Spearmint2
Level 16
Level 16

Re: "glitchy" mouse pointer

Post by Spearmint2 »

Is one monitor a touch screen? Is this a wireless mouse, needing new battery? If wireless mouse, what model? Problems with touchpad too?