Is a software like this available for MINT?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
wannabelinuxguy
Level 2
Level 2

Is a software like this available for MINT?

Post by wannabelinuxguy » Wed Oct 02, 2019 11:11 pm

I am a newbie which is why I'm posting here ...
There is ONE piece of software I use with W7, a utility, that I really love and use a lot.
I am wondering if something like it might be available for Linux Mint.

It is a Macro utility. For example if I want to type in my address I can set it to type my entire address every time I type the letters "addr."
Or I can type my entire Computer specs by just typing "specs."
I can type the current date with "dt." or the current time with "tm.", all customizable of course: I choose what I want the macro to type and I choose the code to make it type that, as in "addr." types my complete name and address.

ALSO, while I'm at it, is there a good alarm system that is accessible in what I have to call the "system tray" or quick launch bar for example, that I would be able to set for an hour ahead, or a week ahead...or a year ahead... that would sound off and pop up on my screen when the alarm is due, to remind me, for example to pay my credit card on the 17th of every month, or to send someone a birthday card on the 15th of June every year...?

I'd rather not use Google for this.

decrepit
Level 4
Level 4

Re: Is a software like this available for MINT?

Post by decrepit » Thu Oct 03, 2019 4:30 am

Type calendar into the Software Manager, looks like heaps of them, Remind, says it has an alarm system but only gets 3.5 stars.

Moem
Level 19
Level 19