HDD/SSD setup

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
billybaldin
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2019 12:00 am

HDD/SSD setup

Post by billybaldin » Sat Oct 19, 2019 12:09 am

I have recently switched to Linux from Windows.
The main use of this system Will be to run a Plex Server and others that go with it. Sonarr/Radarr etc.

I'm wondering does it make a difference if I put Linux on its own SSD/HDD? Is SSD better than HDD?
Is it better to keep storage separate?

decrepit
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 228
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2018 4:07 am
Location: Mandurah Western Australia

Re: HDD/SSD setup

Post by decrepit » Sat Oct 19, 2019 2:22 am

SSD is certainly a lot quicker, ideal for stuff that doesn't change a lot. But there seems to be different opinions over how many read write cycles it's good for. Some say modern devices are just as good as HDDs other's advise to store frequently changing stuff on HDDs
I've gone the safe route and have the operating system on SSD and data on HDD, but also because the SSD is much smaller then the HDD

User avatar
catweazel
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9827
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: HDD/SSD setup

Post by catweazel » Sat Oct 19, 2019 2:31 am

billybaldin wrote:
Sat Oct 19, 2019 12:09 am
I'm wondering does it make a difference if I put Linux on its own SSD/HDD? Is SSD better than HDD?
If it's serving files or video streams, an SSD isn't going to make much difference in a home situation because your network bandwidth will be limited to 100MB/s over ethernet and usually less for wifi, while your HDD's may be rated up to 150MB/s.
Is it better to keep storage separate?
In this instance, I would say yes. If something goes wrong with the OS, it isn't going to impact much, if at all, on your data.
"There is, ultimately, only one truth -- cogito, ergo sum -- everything else is an assumption." - Me, my swansong.

DAMIEN1307
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2304
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

Re: HDD/SSD setup

Post by DAMIEN1307 » Sat Oct 19, 2019 3:03 am

Just 100mbs???...under "ethernet" mine says 1000...can that be correct?...DAMIEN
ORDO AB CHAO

User avatar
lsemmens
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2683
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 9:07 pm
Location: Rural South Australia

Re: HDD/SSD setup

Post by lsemmens » Sat Oct 19, 2019 3:16 am

Haven't played with it for a while but I have Plex on my server and SWMBO has a set top box that reads it with no real issues. There are some movie formats that her box cannot decode, I shall convert them one day. IIRC It was pretty easy to set up.
Kernel: 4.15.0-46-generic x86_64 bits
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.8.9
Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara

Laptop HP-ProBook-470-G2 8Gb RAM SSD
Server AMD Phenom 9650 - GEForce 9400GT 6Gb RAM
+ three other Mint machines
Out of my mind - please leave a message

User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: HDD/SSD setup

Post by absque fenestris » Sat Oct 19, 2019 3:54 am

DAMIEN1307 wrote:
Sat Oct 19, 2019 3:03 am
Just 100mbs???...under "ethernet" mine says 1000...can that be correct?...DAMIEN
It's also called Gigabit Ethernet - not Gigabyte Ethernet.

100MB/s (100Megabytes) as Catweazel writes is already correct... These speed specifications are somewhat case-sensitive :mrgreen:
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia (Mate) 32-bit - Acer D250 Netbook (Intel Atom N270, 2 GB RAM, 120 GB SSD)
Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa (Mate) 64-bit - MacBook Pro 15" (Intel Core2 Duo, 8 GB RAM, 240 GB SSD) - with some separation difficulties...

User avatar
catweazel
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9827
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: HDD/SSD setup

Post by catweazel » Sat Oct 19, 2019 4:19 am

DAMIEN1307 wrote:
Sat Oct 19, 2019 3:03 am
Just 100mbs???...under "ethernet" mine says 1000...can that be correct?...DAMIEN
I wrote 100MB/s, not 100Mb/s. Your 1000 is 1000 Mb/s, which is 100 MB/s.
"There is, ultimately, only one truth -- cogito, ergo sum -- everything else is an assumption." - Me, my swansong.

DAMIEN1307
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2304
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

Re: HDD/SSD setup

Post by DAMIEN1307 » Sat Oct 19, 2019 4:27 am

Ok...thank-you, i think ive got it as i copy and paste this..."1000 Mb/s"...NOW i know this equals 100 MB/s...DAMIEN
ORDO AB CHAO

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”