[SOLVED] wireless does not show in the Network connections menu. Only Wired is shown

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
jimisbell
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 7:15 pm
Location: The Third Coast

[SOLVED] wireless does not show in the Network connections menu. Only Wired is shown

Post by jimisbell »

I have installed Mint 19.2 using a wired connection. Now I have added a wireless adapter on USB and the system finds it in lsusb but it does not show as an option on network connections where only the wired connection is shown. Following is a dump of the Wireless Info program. Probably more info than you need, but wanted to save multiple dumps and time. Is there any reason that the "wireless" option does not show on the "Network Connections" menu. My wife wants the cable across the livingroom floor GONE ASAP.

Code: Select all

########## wireless info START ##########

Report from: 03 Nov 2019 21:47 CST -0600

Booted last: 03 Nov 2019 00:00 CDT -0500

Script from: 22 Oct 2018 03:34 UTC +0000

##### release ###########################

Distributor ID:	LinuxMint
Description:	Linux Mint 19.2 Tina
Release:	19.2
Codename:	tina

##### kernel ############################

Linux 4.15.0-66-generic #75-Ubuntu SMP Tue Oct 1 05:24:09 UTC 2019 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Parameters: ro, quiet, splash, vt.handoff=1

##### desktop ###########################

Cinnamon

##### lspci #############################

02:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller [10ec:8168] (rev 03)
	Subsystem: Elitegroup Computer Systems RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller [1019:2278]
	Kernel driver in use: r8169

##### lsusb #############################

Bus 001 Device 005: ID 1307:0330 Transcend Information, Inc. 63-in-1 Multi-Card Reader/Writer
Bus 001 Device 084: ID 148f:760b Ralink Technology, Corp. MT7601U Wireless Adapter
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 002: ID 046d:c52f Logitech, Inc. Unifying Receiver
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 04f3:0103 Elan Microelectronics Corp. ActiveJet K-2024 Multimedia Keyboard
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub

##### PCMCIA card info ##################

##### rfkill ############################

##### secure boot #######################

EFI variables are not supported on this system

##### lsmod #############################

mac80211              786432  1 mt7601u
cfg80211              622592  2 mt7601u,mac80211

##### interfaces ########################

[/etc/network/interfaces]
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

##### ifconfig ##########################

1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback <MAC address> brd <MAC address>
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: enp2s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether <MAC 'enp2s0' [IF1]> brd <MAC address>
    inet 192.168.0.14/24 brd 192.168.0.255 scope global dynamic noprefixroute enp2s0
       valid_lft 600536sec preferred_lft 600536sec
    inet6 fd00:6477:7da5:7a22:dd76:3ebe:3f64:1f0d/64 scope global temporary dynamic 
       valid_lft 535426sec preferred_lft 81846sec
    inet6 fd00:6477:7da5:7a22:8536:b97c:4d18:8010/64 scope global dynamic mngtmpaddr noprefixroute 
       valid_lft 535426sec preferred_lft 401569sec
    inet6 fe80::dce3:d493:94d0:d324/64 scope link noprefixroute 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever

##### iwconfig ##########################

lo        no wireless extensions.

enp2s0    no wireless extensions.

##### route #############################

default via 192.168.0.1 dev enp2s0 proto dhcp metric 100 
169.254.0.0/16 dev enp2s0 scope link metric 1000 
192.168.0.0/24 dev enp2s0 proto kernel scope link src 192.168.0.14 metric 100 

##### resolv.conf #######################

[777 root '/etc/resolv.conf' -> '../run/systemd/resolve/stub-resolv.conf']

nameserver 127.0.0.53
options edns0
search hitronhub.home

##### network managers ##################

Installed:

	NetworkManager

Running:

root       782     1  0 20:16 ?        00:00:03 /usr/sbin/NetworkManager --no-daemon

##### NetworkManager info ###############

GENERAL.DEVICE:                         enp2s0
GENERAL.TYPE:                           ethernet
GENERAL.NM-TYPE:                        NMDeviceEthernet
GENERAL.VENDOR:                         Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.
GENERAL.PRODUCT:                        RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
GENERAL.DRIVER:                         r8169
GENERAL.DRIVER-VERSION:                 2.3LK-NAPI
GENERAL.FIRMWARE-VERSION:               --
GENERAL.HWADDR:                         <MAC 'enp2s0' [IF1]>
GENERAL.MTU:                            1500
GENERAL.STATE:                          100 (connected)
GENERAL.REASON:                         0 (No reason given)
GENERAL.UDI:                            /sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1c.1/0000:02:00.0/net/enp2s0
GENERAL.IP-IFACE:                       enp2s0
GENERAL.IS-SOFTWARE:                    no
GENERAL.NM-MANAGED:                     yes
GENERAL.AUTOCONNECT:                    yes
GENERAL.FIRMWARE-MISSING:               no
GENERAL.NM-PLUGIN-MISSING:              no
GENERAL.PHYS-PORT-ID:                   --
GENERAL.CONNECTION:                     Wired connection 1
GENERAL.CON-UUID:                       0a44d0d8-a93f-33f3-9e0d-7d10aa4baade
GENERAL.CON-PATH:                       /org/freedesktop/NetworkManager/ActiveConnection/1
GENERAL.METERED:                        no (guessed)
CAPABILITIES.CARRIER-DETECT:            yes
CAPABILITIES.SPEED:                     100 Mb/s
CAPABILITIES.IS-SOFTWARE:               no
CAPABILITIES.SRIOV:                     no
WIRED-PROPERTIES.CARRIER:               on
IP4.ADDRESS[1]:                         192.168.0.14/24
IP4.GATEWAY:                            192.168.0.1
IP4.ROUTE[1]:                           dst = 0.0.0.0/0, nh = 192.168.0.1, mt = 100
IP4.ROUTE[2]:                           dst = 192.168.0.0/24, nh = 0.0.0.0, mt = 100
IP4.ROUTE[3]:                           dst = 169.254.0.0/16, nh = 0.0.0.0, mt = 1000
IP4.DNS[1]:                             192.168.0.1
IP4.DOMAIN[1]:                          hitronhub.home
DHCP4.OPTION[1]:                        requested_host_name = 1
DHCP4.OPTION[2]:                        domain_name_servers = 192.168.0.1
DHCP4.OPTION[3]:                        requested_domain_search = 1
DHCP4.OPTION[4]:                        requested_time_offset = 1
DHCP4.OPTION[5]:                        host_name = Jims
DHCP4.OPTION[6]:                        requested_domain_name = 1
DHCP4.OPTION[7]:                        requested_rfc3442_classless_static_routes = 1
DHCP4.OPTION[8]:                        requested_wpad = 1
DHCP4.OPTION[9]:                        requested_netbios_scope = 1
DHCP4.OPTION[10]:                       next_server = 0.0.0.0
DHCP4.OPTION[11]:                       domain_name = hitronhub.home
DHCP4.OPTION[12]:                       dhcp_message_type = 5
DHCP4.OPTION[13]:                       requested_subnet_mask = 1
DHCP4.OPTION[14]:                       dhcp_lease_time = 604800
DHCP4.OPTION[15]:                       ip_address = 192.168.0.14
DHCP4.OPTION[16]:                       routers = 192.168.0.1
DHCP4.OPTION[17]:                       requested_domain_name_servers = 1
DHCP4.OPTION[18]:                       requested_static_routes = 1
DHCP4.OPTION[19]:                       subnet_mask = 255.255.255.0
DHCP4.OPTION[20]:                       broadcast_address = 192.168.0.255
DHCP4.OPTION[21]:                       requested_ntp_servers = 1
DHCP4.OPTION[22]:                       requested_netbios_name_servers = 1
DHCP4.OPTION[23]:                       requested_broadcast_address = 1
DHCP4.OPTION[24]:                       requested_routers = 1
DHCP4.OPTION[25]:                       requested_ms_classless_static_routes = 1
DHCP4.OPTION[26]:                       requested_interface_mtu = 1
DHCP4.OPTION[27]:                       network_number = 192.168.0.0
DHCP4.OPTION[28]:                       expiry = 1573439770
DHCP4.OPTION[29]:                       dhcp_server_identifier = 192.168.0.1
IP6.ADDRESS[1]:                         fd00:6477:7da5:7a22:dd76:3ebe:3f64:1f0d/64
IP6.ADDRESS[2]:                         fd00:6477:7da5:7a22:8536:b97c:4d18:8010/64
IP6.ADDRESS[3]:                         fe80::dce3:d493:94d0:d324/64
IP6.GATEWAY:                            --
IP6.ROUTE[1]:                           dst = fc00::/7, nh = fe80::6677:7dff:fea5:7a22, mt = 100
IP6.ROUTE[2]:                           dst = fd00:6477:7da5:7a22::/64, nh = ::, mt = 100
IP6.ROUTE[3]:                           dst = ff00::/8, nh = ::, mt = 256, table=255
IP6.ROUTE[4]:                           dst = fe80::/64, nh = ::, mt = 256
IP6.ROUTE[5]:                           dst = fe80::/64, nh = ::, mt = 100
CONNECTIONS.AVAILABLE-CONNECTION-PATHS: /org/freedesktop/NetworkManager/Settings/{1}
CONNECTIONS.AVAILABLE-CONNECTIONS[1]:   0a44d0d8-a93f-33f3-9e0d-7d10aa4baade | Wired connection 1

##### NetworkManager.state ##############

[main]
NetworkingEnabled=true
WirelessEnabled=true
WWANEnabled=true

##### NetworkManager config #############

[[/etc/NetworkManager/conf.d/default-wifi-powersave-on.conf]]
[connection]
wifi.powersave = 3

[[/etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf]]
[main]
plugins=ifupdown,keyfile
[ifupdown]
managed=false
[device]
wifi.scan-rand-mac-address=no

[[/usr/lib/NetworkManager/conf.d/10-dns-resolved.conf]]
[main]
dns=systemd-resolved

[[/usr/lib/NetworkManager/conf.d/10-globally-managed-devices.conf]]
[keyfile]
unmanaged-devices=*,except:type:wifi,except:type:wwan

[[/usr/lib/NetworkManager/conf.d/20-connectivity-ubuntu.conf]]
[connectivity]
uri=http://connectivity-check.ubuntu.com/

[[/usr/lib/NetworkManager/conf.d/no-mac-addr-change.conf]]
[device-mac-addr-change-wifi]
match-device=driver:rtl8723bs,driver:rtl8189es,driver:r8188eu,driver:8188eu,driver:eagle_sdio,driver:wl
wifi.scan-rand-mac-address=no
wifi.cloned-mac-address=preserve
ethernet.cloned-mac-address=preserve

##### NetworkManager profiles ###########

##### Netplan config ####################

[/etc/netplan/1-network-manager-all.yaml]
network:
  version: 2
  renderer: NetworkManager

##### iw reg get ########################

Region: America/Chicago (based on set time zone)

global
country 00: DFS-UNSET
	(2402 - 2472 @ 40), (N/A, 20), (N/A)
	(2457 - 2482 @ 20), (N/A, 20), (N/A), AUTO-BW, PASSIVE-SCAN
	(2474 - 2494 @ 20), (N/A, 20), (N/A), NO-OFDM, PASSIVE-SCAN
	(5170 - 5250 @ 80), (N/A, 20), (N/A), AUTO-BW, PASSIVE-SCAN
	(5250 - 5330 @ 80), (N/A, 20), (0 ms), DFS, AUTO-BW, PASSIVE-SCAN
	(5490 - 5730 @ 160), (N/A, 20), (0 ms), DFS, PASSIVE-SCAN
	(5735 - 5835 @ 80), (N/A, 20), (N/A), PASSIVE-SCAN
	(57240 - 63720 @ 2160), (N/A, 0), (N/A)

##### iwlist channels ###################

lo        no frequency information.

enp2s0    no frequency information.

##### iwlist scan #######################

Error executing command as another user: Request dismissed

Acquisition of admin privileges failed.

##### module infos ######################

[mac80211]
filename:       /lib/modules/4.15.0-66-generic/kernel/net/mac80211/mac80211.ko
license:        GPL
description:    IEEE 802.11 subsystem
srcversion:     CA60D8FB7E9197741540867
depends:        cfg80211
retpoline:      Y
intree:         Y
name:           mac80211
vermagic:       4.15.0-66-generic SMP mod_unload 
signat:         PKCS#7
signer:         
sig_key:        
sig_hashalgo:   md4
parm:           minstrel_vht_only:Use only VHT rates when VHT is supported by sta. (bool)
parm:           max_nullfunc_tries:Maximum nullfunc tx tries before disconnecting (reason 4). (int)
parm:           max_probe_tries:Maximum probe tries before disconnecting (reason 4). (int)
parm:           beacon_loss_count:Number of beacon intervals before we decide beacon was lost. (int)
parm:           probe_wait_ms:Maximum time(ms) to wait for probe response before disconnecting (reason 4). (int)
parm:           ieee80211_default_rc_algo:Default rate control algorithm for mac80211 to use (charp)

[cfg80211]
filename:       /lib/modules/4.15.0-66-generic/kernel/net/wireless/cfg80211.ko
description:    wireless configuration support
license:        GPL
author:         Johannes Berg
srcversion:     5EE775D8EACA80C712223E1
depends:        
retpoline:      Y
intree:         Y
name:           cfg80211
vermagic:       4.15.0-66-generic SMP mod_unload 
signat:         PKCS#7
signer:         
sig_key:        
sig_hashalgo:   md4
parm:           bss_entries_limit:limit to number of scan BSS entries (per wiphy, default 1000) (int)
parm:           ieee80211_regdom:IEEE 802.11 regulatory domain code (charp)
parm:           cfg80211_disable_40mhz_24ghz:Disable 40MHz support in the 2.4GHz band (bool)

##### module parameters #################

[mac80211]
beacon_loss_count: 7
ieee80211_default_rc_algo: minstrel_ht
max_nullfunc_tries: 2
max_probe_tries: 5
minstrel_vht_only: Y
probe_wait_ms: 500

[cfg80211]
bss_entries_limit: 1000
cfg80211_disable_40mhz_24ghz: N
ieee80211_regdom: 00

##### /etc/modules ######################

##### modprobe options ##################

[/etc/modprobe.d/amd64-microcode-blacklist.conf]
blacklist microcode

[/etc/modprobe.d/blacklist-ath_pci.conf]
blacklist ath_pci

[/etc/modprobe.d/blacklist-bcm43.conf]
blacklist b43
blacklist b43legacy
blacklist ssb
blacklist bcm43xx
blacklist brcm80211
blacklist brcmfmac
blacklist brcmsmac
blacklist bcma

[/etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf]
blacklist evbug
blacklist usbmouse
blacklist usbkbd
blacklist eepro100
blacklist de4x5
blacklist eth1394
blacklist snd_intel8x0m
blacklist snd_aw2
blacklist i2c_i801
blacklist prism54
blacklist bcm43xx
blacklist garmin_gps
blacklist asus_acpi
blacklist snd_pcsp
blacklist pcspkr
blacklist amd76x_edac

[/etc/modprobe.d/blacklist-rare-network.conf]
alias net-pf-3 off
alias net-pf-6 off
alias net-pf-9 off
alias net-pf-11 off
alias net-pf-12 off
alias net-pf-19 off
alias net-pf-21 off
alias net-pf-36 off

[/etc/modprobe.d/intel-microcode-blacklist.conf]
blacklist microcode

[/etc/modprobe.d/iwlwifi.conf]
remove iwlwifi \
(/sbin/lsmod | grep -o -e ^iwlmvm -e ^iwldvm -e ^iwlwifi | xargs /sbin/rmmod) \
&& /sbin/modprobe -r mac80211

##### rc.local ##########################

grep: /etc/rc.local: No such file or directory

##### pm-utils ##########################

##### udev rules ########################

##### dmesg #############################

[ 5473.389367] [UFW BLOCK] IN=enp2s0 OUT= MAC= SRC=fd00:6477:7da5:7a22:dd76:3ebe:3f64:1f0d DST=ff02:0000:0000:0000:0000:0000:0000:0001 LEN=64 TC=0 HOPLIMIT=1 FLOWLBL=1027217 PROTO=UDP SPT=8612 DPT=8612 LEN=24 

########## wireless info END ############
Last edited by jimisbell on Sun Nov 24, 2019 10:10 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Democracy is two wolves and a sheep discussing what's for dinner. Freedom is a well armed sheep contesting the decision.

sleeper12
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2148
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 3:22 pm

Re: wireless does not show in the Network connections menu. Only Wired is shown

Post by sleeper12 »

Give us the result of these commands:

Code: Select all

 inxi -Fxz 

Code: Select all

 rfkill list all 

jimisbell
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 7:15 pm
Location: The Third Coast

Re: wireless does not show in the Network connections menu. Only Wired is shown

Post by jimisbell »

jim@Jims:~$ inxi -Fxz
System:
Host: Jims Kernel: 4.15.0-66-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc
v: 7.4.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 4.2.4 Distro: Linux Mint 19.2 Tina
base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic
Machine:
Type: Desktop System: powerspec product: N105 v: 12/22/2011
serial: <filter>
Mobo: ECS model: CHICAGO2 serial: <filter> BIOS: American Megatrends
v: 1.10(D) date: 10/27/2011
CPU:
Topology: Dual Core model: Intel Celeron E3400 bits: 64 type: MCP
arch: Penryn rev: A L2 cache: 1024 KiB
flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 10373
Speed: 1407 MHz min/max: 1203/2603 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1431 2: 1502
Graphics:
Device-1: Intel 4 Series Integrated Graphics vendor: Elite Systems
driver: i915 v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0
Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: modesetting
unloaded: fbdev,vesa resolution: 1280x1024~60Hz
OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel G41 v: 2.1 Mesa 19.0.8
direct render: Yes
Audio:
Device-1: Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio
vendor: Elite Systems driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:1b.0
Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.15.0-66-generic
Network:
Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet
vendor: Elite Systems driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: e800
bus ID: 02:00.0
IF: enp2s0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Device-2: Ralink MT7601U Wireless Adapter type: USB driver: mt7601u
bus ID: 1-6:127
Drives:
Local Storage: total: 1.36 TiB used: 13.43 GiB (1.0%)
ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Samsung model: HD503HI size: 465.76 GiB
ID-2: /dev/sdb vendor: Seagate model: ST31000528AS size: 931.51 GiB
RAID:
Hardware-1: Intel 82801GR/GDH (ICH7R/ICH7DH) SATA Controller [RAID mode]
driver: ahci v: 3.0 bus ID: 00:1f.2
Partition:
ID-1: / size: 718.75 GiB used: 13.43 GiB (1.9%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdb8
Sensors:
System Temperatures: cpu: 39.0 C mobo: N/A
Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A
Info:
Processes: 176 Uptime: 20m Memory: 5.76 GiB used: 1.86 GiB (32.3%)
Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 7.4.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.20
inxi: 3.0.32
jim@Jims:~$ rfkill list all
jim@Jims:~$
Democracy is two wolves and a sheep discussing what's for dinner. Freedom is a well armed sheep contesting the decision.

sleeper12
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2148
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 3:22 pm

Re: wireless does not show in the Network connections menu. Only Wired is shown

Post by sleeper12 »

Be sure your wifi is turned on. Look for a physical switch, Fn & F key or something in Bios to enable it. If you're sure it's on, but still not working, try this:

Code: Select all

 sudo modprobe mt7601u 

jimisbell
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 7:15 pm
Location: The Third Coast

Re: wireless does not show in the Network connections menu. Only Wired is shown

Post by jimisbell »

This is what I got.

jim@Jims:~$ sudo modprobe mt7601u
[sudo] password for jim:
jim@Jims:~$

Dont see that it did anything.

There are no switches on the adapter and its green light is merrily blinking away. The instructions that came with it are in Mandarin and I cannot read them.

I dont know to access the bios to modify it.
Democracy is two wolves and a sheep discussing what's for dinner. Freedom is a well armed sheep contesting the decision.

jimisbell
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 7:15 pm
Location: The Third Coast

Re: wireless does not show in the Network connections menu. Only Wired is shown

Post by jimisbell »

I tried disconnecting theCAT5 cable to see if it would look elsewhere to see if there was a wireless connection. It didnt help, just told me I wasnt connected.

The "network settings" menu does not offer a wireless connection but just shows the "wired" selection and offers a button to "add" a connection but the offers no help in that direction.

The "network connections" menu shows only the Ethernet connection.
Democracy is two wolves and a sheep discussing what's for dinner. Freedom is a well armed sheep contesting the decision.

HAWR
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1299
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2019 1:15 pm

Re: wireless does not show in the Network connections menu. Only Wired is shown

Post by HAWR »

Hello jimisbell,

have you tried to add manually a radio connection in the "network connections" with + button and then select it from the dropdown menu?

jimisbell
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 7:15 pm
Location: The Third Coast

Re: wireless does not show in the Network connections menu. Only Wired is shown

Post by jimisbell »

Many messages flash on the screen and then are gone before I can read them during the boot. Probably one of these gives me instructions but 1 second is not long enough to read them
Democracy is two wolves and a sheep discussing what's for dinner. Freedom is a well armed sheep contesting the decision.

jimisbell
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 7:15 pm
Location: The Third Coast

Re: wireless does not show in the Network connections menu. Only Wired is shown

Post by jimisbell »

The drop down menu offers greek to me numbers "Security", "Identity", "IPV4", and "IPV5" in a window.
Democracy is two wolves and a sheep discussing what's for dinner. Freedom is a well armed sheep contesting the decision.

sleeper12
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2148
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 3:22 pm

Re: wireless does not show in the Network connections menu. Only Wired is shown

Post by sleeper12 »

jimisbell wrote:
Tue Nov 05, 2019 3:37 pm
This is what I got.

jim@Jims:~$ sudo modprobe mt7601u
[sudo] password for jim:
jim@Jims:~$

Dont see that it did anything.

There are no switches on the adapter and its green light is merrily blinking away. The instructions that came with it are in Mandarin and I cannot read them.

I dont know to access the bios to modify it.
Did you reboot after running that command?

I meant to look for a switch on the computer or an Fn & F key on the keyboard to turn wifi on. The F key can be any number, but looks something like this F3:

https://www.howtogeek.com/wp-content/up ... rES7xq.jpg
Last edited by sleeper12 on Tue Nov 05, 2019 4:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

sleeper12
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2148
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 3:22 pm

Re: wireless does not show in the Network connections menu. Only Wired is shown

Post by sleeper12 »

If none of this works, it might be easier for you to get a wifi adapter that works out of the box on linux. I've seen Panda mentioned here & a few others.

HAWR
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1299
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2019 1:15 pm

Re: wireless does not show in the Network connections menu. Only Wired is shown

Post by HAWR »

Hello jimisbell,

I mean the + button as you can see on the picture in the link as an example. Then you get a dropdown for adding for example a new ethernet, or a radio etc.

https://heiko-sieger.info/define-a-netw ... plication/


Hello sleeper12,

it is a desktop PC, no laptop, so there are no Fn keys or switches. And the used adapter is running with a kernel driver, so it should be working ootb.
Last edited by HAWR on Tue Nov 05, 2019 5:07 pm, edited 2 times in total.

sleeper12
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2148
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 3:22 pm

Re: wireless does not show in the Network connections menu. Only Wired is shown

Post by sleeper12 »

HAWR wrote:
Tue Nov 05, 2019 5:00 pm

Hello sleeper12,

it is a desktop PC, no laptop, so there are no Fn keys or switches.
Ok, I never owned a desktop, but I thought the keyboards were similar. My mistake.

jimisbell
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 7:15 pm
Location: The Third Coast

Re: wireless does not show in the Network connections menu. Only Wired is shown

Post by jimisbell »

Across the top are 12 F keys labelled F1, F2,F3....etc. but I no labels to say what they are for.

Yes I did reboot and it didnt change anything I could see. Thge wireless is still not mentioned on either of the network menues that pop up from the button on the lower right.
Democracy is two wolves and a sheep discussing what's for dinner. Freedom is a well armed sheep contesting the decision.

sleeper12
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2148
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 3:22 pm

Re: wireless does not show in the Network connections menu. Only Wired is shown

Post by sleeper12 »

Ok, only other thing I can think is you might be missing firmware for that adapter. Not sure how to fix that. If what HAWR suggested doesn't work & no one else comes along, I'd try a different adapter.

jimisbell
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 7:15 pm
Location: The Third Coast

Re: wireless does not show in the Network connections menu. Only Wired is shown

Post by jimisbell »

I was hoping to avoid that since its brand new and the computer recognises it even down to the model number. Hate to throw it away and I would be shooting in the dark to get a new one. They dont say in the ad that they are for Linux Mint 19.2.
Democracy is two wolves and a sheep discussing what's for dinner. Freedom is a well armed sheep contesting the decision.

JeremyB
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11475
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: wireless does not show in the Network connections menu. Only Wired is shown

Post by JeremyB »

Post results from terminal for

Code: Select all

dmesg | grep mt76

jimisbell
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 7:15 pm
Location: The Third Coast

Re: wireless does not show in the Network connections menu. Only Wired is shown

Post by jimisbell »

Tried "dmesg | grep mt76" and it crashed the computer with page after page of errors and I had to reboot to get back on line. Was that a prank? Not funny
Democracy is two wolves and a sheep discussing what's for dinner. Freedom is a well armed sheep contesting the decision.

sleeper12
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2148
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 3:22 pm

Re: wireless does not show in the Network connections menu. Only Wired is shown

Post by sleeper12 »

jimisbell wrote:
Tue Nov 05, 2019 8:29 pm
Tried "dmesg | grep mt76" and it crashed the computer with page after page of errors and I had to reboot to get back on line. Was that a prank? Not funny
Maybe you copied it wrong? Best to copy & paste it into the terminal.

jimisbell
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 7:15 pm
Location: The Third Coast

Re: wireless does not show in the Network connections menu. Only Wired is shown

Post by jimisbell »

Yes, I DID copy and paste it.....three times.....no keyboard entry.
Democracy is two wolves and a sheep discussing what's for dinner. Freedom is a well armed sheep contesting the decision.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”