Stalls on start up.

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
jamesofyorkshire
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 5:23 am
Location: Yorkshire

Stalls on start up.

Post by jamesofyorkshire »

Hello.

I installed Cinnamon (Mint) on a laptop which works fine apart from when starting up. It gets to the LM logo on the screen soon enough then hangs there for a about 1 minute before moving on to user log in. A bit annoying.

Any help to speed things up would be greatly appreciated.
DAMIEN1307
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3432
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

Re: Stalls on start up.

Post by DAMIEN1307 »

Copy and paste the following command into your "terminal" so we can see the system specs which will help us to help you...DAMIEN

System Specs.

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
ORDO AB CHAO
"I refuse to be assimilated, I refuse to become one with the Borg Collective"
jamesofyorkshire
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 5:23 am
Location: Yorkshire

Re: Stalls on start up.

Post by jamesofyorkshire »

System: Host: james-Satellite-L350 Kernel: 4.15.0-42-generic x86_64
bits: 64 gcc: 7.3.0
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.8.9 (Gtk 3.22.30-1ubuntu4)
Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara
Machine: Device: laptop System: TOSHIBA product: Satellite L350 v: PSLD8E-06Y008EN serial: N/A
Mobo: TOSHIBA model: Portable PC serial: N/A
BIOS: INSYDE v: 1.80 date: 03/20/2009
CPU: Dual core Intel Pentium Dual T3400 (-MCP-)
arch: Conroe rev.13 cache: 1024 KB
flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 ssse3) bmips: 8644
clock speeds: max: 2166 MHz 1: 2161 MHz 2: 2161 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel Mobile 4 Series Integrated Graphics Controller
bus-ID: 00:02.0
Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.6 )
drivers: modesetting (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
Resolution: 1440x900@59.94hz
OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Mobile Intel GM45 Express
version: 2.1 Mesa 18.0.5 Direct Render: Yes
Audio: Card Intel 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller
driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.0-42-generic
Network: Card-1: Realtek RTL810xE PCIE Fast Ethernet controller
driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 3000 bus-ID: 02:00.0
IF: enp2s0 state: down mac: <filter>
Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros AR242x / AR542x Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express)
driver: ath5k bus-ID: 03:00.0
IF: wlp3s0 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives: HDD Total Size: 128.0GB (36.3% used)
ID-1: /dev/sda model: SanDisk_SD8SN8U size: 128.0GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 92G used: 44G (51%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda5
RAID: No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 41.0C mobo: N/A
Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info: Processes: 174 Uptime: 4 min Memory: 966.8/3815.5MB
Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 7.4.0
Client: Shell (bash 4.4.201) inxi: 2.3.56
DAMIEN1307
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3432
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

Re: Stalls on start up.

Post by DAMIEN1307 »

I see 2 "Possible" problems...The first one is your bios is reporting a 2009 date system so it is a little old now and "Cinnamon" may just be a little too "heavy" for that older hardware with your "Dual core Intel Pentium Dual T3400 (-MCP-)", CPU...The second "possible" problem is the kernel in use has not yet been updated to the current one in the 4.15.0-xx series kernel which is now at 4.15.0-66...My personal recommendation is to install either the "Mate" or "XFCE" version of Linux Mint which are both much lighter on older hardware such as yours...DAMIEN

Always make sure to run all available updates to your system right after a new install and reboot it to pick up the updated kernel.
ORDO AB CHAO
"I refuse to be assimilated, I refuse to become one with the Borg Collective"
jamesofyorkshire
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 5:23 am
Location: Yorkshire

Re: Stalls on start up.

Post by jamesofyorkshire »

Thanks for that advice.

Do you think I should try updating the kernal before doing a reinstall? Worth a shot? I have the updates set to install levels 1 - 3....not 4 or 5, which includes a kernal update.

I run exactly the same distro on another old laptop with no issues.
DAMIEN1307
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3432
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

Re: Stalls on start up.

Post by DAMIEN1307 »

It is now the recommendation of the Linux Mint developers to update ALL recommendations of ALL levels including updating the kernels within the LTS series that comes with your particular LM installation...This is to insure that you will have ALL security updates as well as ALL bug fixes...DAMIEN
ORDO AB CHAO
"I refuse to be assimilated, I refuse to become one with the Borg Collective"
jamesofyorkshire
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 5:23 am
Location: Yorkshire

Re: Stalls on start up.

Post by jamesofyorkshire »

I didn't know that. I shall change the settings on my devices.

Thanks.
DAMIEN1307
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3432
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

Re: Stalls on start up.

Post by DAMIEN1307 »

Let us know how you make out with this before deciding on an install of either "Mate" or "XFCE"...DAMIEN
ORDO AB CHAO
"I refuse to be assimilated, I refuse to become one with the Borg Collective"
jamesofyorkshire
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 5:23 am
Location: Yorkshire

Re: Stalls on start up.

Post by jamesofyorkshire »

I can't figure out how to install the higher level updates since I set the updates to levels 1 - 3.
DAMIEN1307
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3432
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

Re: Stalls on start up.

Post by DAMIEN1307 »

Just go to where the "levels" are where you have checked 1-3 already and tick the boxes for 4 and 5, then refresh the update manager for updates and make sure that all the boxes that show up thereafter are ticked for download...DAMIEN
ORDO AB CHAO
"I refuse to be assimilated, I refuse to become one with the Borg Collective"
jamesofyorkshire
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 5:23 am
Location: Yorkshire

Re: Stalls on start up.

Post by jamesofyorkshire »

I updated the kernal and anything else showing.....headers etc. and it made no difference to the 1 minute stall on start-up. It's not that it's slow, it stops working for about 1 minute.
RIH
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 817
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 3:47 am

Re: Stalls on start up.

Post by RIH »

Code: Select all

systemd-analyze
In terminal will show how long your startup is taking.

Code: Select all

systemd-analyze blame
Will show, in descending order, the time items are taking on startup.

Reporting that output back here might give some ideas as to what is happening.
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”