no wireless wifi showing up <solved>

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Mintyboi47
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 7:07 pm

no wireless wifi showing up <solved>

Post by Mintyboi47 »

i installed linux on my laptop a couple of days ago. when i go to turn on the wifi, no wireless wifis show up. please help
Last edited by Mintyboi47 on Sat Nov 23, 2019 9:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
LanceM
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2359
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:50 pm

Re: no wireless wifi showing up

Post by LanceM »

Do you have a Wi-Fi USB dongle you can use temporarily to help fix it?
To mark this issue solved, go to your original 1st post and click the edit pencil and add [Solved] at the beginning of the title and click Submit.
Mint accepts donations: https://linuxmint.com/donors.php

Mintyboi47
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 7:07 pm

Re: no wireless wifi showing up

Post by Mintyboi47 »

I do not know what a wifi dongle is

User avatar
LanceM
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2359
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:50 pm

Re: no wireless wifi showing up

Post by LanceM »

Then you don't have one, I guess. It a small unit that you put in a USB port to enable Wi-Fi
Like this one which works well with Linux:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0076 ... UTF8&psc=1
I've used them to update a fresh install. The updates can have the drivers to fix it.
Did you have Wi-Fi at the time of installation? If so you could boot to the installation media (live session) and run this in a Terminal and post the results:

Code: Select all

sudo lshw -C network
If you have an Ethernet port you can connect it directly to the modem and get it updated also.
To mark this issue solved, go to your original 1st post and click the edit pencil and add [Solved] at the beginning of the title and click Submit.
Mint accepts donations: https://linuxmint.com/donors.php

Mintyboi47
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 7:07 pm

Re: no wireless wifi showing up

Post by Mintyboi47 »

I have an Ethernet cable that I used to post the question. However, I don’t know how to get the wireless wifi on my device because it won’t show up

HAWR
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1299
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2019 1:15 pm

Re: no wireless wifi showing up

Post by HAWR »

Hello Mintyboi47,

in order to help you, we need some informations from you about your hardware and system. It is good to know, that you have internet access by ethernet. Please open the terminal, run the following commands and post the results here, using the </> button above the text box to put it in one codeblock for each result:

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz

Code: Select all

lspci

Code: Select all

rfkill list all

Code: Select all

mokutil --sb-state
You can select & copy a command here and paste it in the terminal from the context menu by right-clicking with the mouse (or Ctrl+Shift+V). (For copy from the terminal: highlight the result, copy by right-click (or Ctrl+Shift+C) and paste it here)

Mintyboi47
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 7:07 pm

Re: no wireless wifi showing up

Post by Mintyboi47 »

the first one says : brandon@brandon-HP-Laptop-15-db0xxx:~$ inxi -Fxz
System:
Host: brandon-HP-Laptop-15-db0xxx Kernel: 4.15.0-54-generic x86_64
bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 7.4.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 4.2.3
Distro: Linux Mint 19.2 Tina base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic
Machine:
Type: Laptop System: HP product: HP Laptop 15-db0xxx
v: Type1ProductConfigId serial: <filter>
Mobo: HP model: 84AC v: 85.24 serial: <filter> UEFI: Insyde v: F.20
date: 05/15/2019
Battery:
ID-1: BAT1 charge: 13.7 Wh condition: 39.0/41.9 Wh (93%)
model: Hewlett-Packard PABAS0241231 status: Discharging
CPU:
Topology: Dual Core model: AMD A4-9125 RADEON R3 4 COMPUTE CORES 2C+2G
bits: 64 type: MCP arch: Excavator L2 cache: 1024 KiB
flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm
bogomips: 9182
Speed: 1296 MHz min/max: 1300/2300 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1488 2: 1316
Graphics:
Device-1: AMD Stoney [Radeon R2/R3/R4/R5 Graphics] vendor: Hewlett-Packard
driver: amdgpu v: kernel bus ID: 00:01.0
Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: amdgpu,ati
unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,radeon,vesa resolution: 1366x768~60Hz
OpenGL: renderer: AMD STONEY (DRM 3.23.0 4.15.0-54-generic LLVM 8.0.0)
v: 4.5 Mesa 19.0.2 direct render: Yes
Audio:
Device-1: AMD vendor: Hewlett-Packard driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel
bus ID: 00:01.1
Device-2: AMD Family 15h Audio vendor: Hewlett-Packard
driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:09.2
Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.15.0-54-generic
Network:
Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet
vendor: Hewlett-Packard driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 3000
bus ID: 02:00.0
IF: enp2s0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Device-2: Realtek RTL8821CE 802.11ac PCIe Wireless Network Adapter
vendor: Hewlett-Packard driver: N/A port: 2000 bus ID: 03:00.0
Drives:
Local Storage: total: 465.76 GiB used: 8.11 GiB (1.7%)
ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Seagate model: ST500LM030-1RK17D size: 465.76 GiB
Partition:
ID-1: / size: 456.96 GiB used: 8.10 GiB (1.8%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2
Sensors:
System Temperatures: cpu: 29.2 C mobo: 20.0 C gpu: amdgpu temp: 29 C
Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A
Info:
Processes: 193 Uptime: 8h 53m Memory: 3.80 GiB used: 726.9 MiB (18.7%)
Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 7.4.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.19
inxi: 3.0.32
brandon@brandon
the second one says: lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h (Models 60h-6fh) Processor Root Complex
00:00.2 IOMMU: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h (Models 60h-6fh) I/O Memory Management Unit
00:01.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Stoney [Radeon R2/R3/R4/R5 Graphics] (rev e2)
00:01.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Device 15b3
00:02.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h (Models 60h-6fh) Host Bridge
00:02.1 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h (Models 60h-6fh) Processor Root Port
00:02.2 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h (Models 60h-6fh) Processor Root Port
00:02.3 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h (Models 60h-6fh) Processor Root Port
00:03.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h (Models 60h-6fh) Host Bridge
00:08.0 Encryption controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device 1578
00:09.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device 157d
00:09.2 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h (Models 60h-6fh) Audio Controller
00:10.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH USB XHCI Controller (rev 20)
00:11.0 SATA controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH SATA Controller [AHCI mode] (rev 4b)
00:12.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH USB EHCI Controller (rev 49)
00:14.0 SMBus: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH SMBus Controller (rev 4b)
00:14.3 ISA bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH LPC Bridge (rev 11)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device 15b0
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device 15b1
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device 15b2
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device 15b3
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device 15b4
00:18.5 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device 15b5
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 15)
03:00.0 Network controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8821CE 802.11ac PCIe Wireless Network Adapter
the third one says: 1: hci0: Bluetooth
Soft blocked: yes
Hard blocked: no
the last one says: secureboot enabled

HAWR
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1299
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2019 1:15 pm

Re: no wireless wifi showing up

Post by HAWR »

Hello Mintyboi47,

thanks for posting the results. You need the driver for that:
03:00.0 Network controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8821CE 802.11ac PCIe Wireless Network Adapter
Here you find a good how-to for installing:

https://easylinuxtipsproject.blogspot.c ... .html#ID10
(item 10)
Last edited by HAWR on Sat Nov 23, 2019 8:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

Mintyboi47
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 7:07 pm

Re: no wireless wifi showing up

Post by Mintyboi47 »

Thanks for replying, although, I do not know how to boot into bios

HAWR
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1299
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2019 1:15 pm

Re: no wireless wifi showing up

Post by HAWR »

If you start your laptop, there must be a hint, which F-key (F2, F10 etc.) you must press to reach your BIOS.

It's seems to be F10. which you have to press quickly some times, when you see the hint

Mintyboi47
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 7:07 pm

Re: no wireless wifi showing up

Post by Mintyboi47 »

When I ran the first command it says: E:dpkg was interrupted, you must manually run ‘Sudo dpkg - - configure -a’ to correct the problem

HAWR
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1299
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2019 1:15 pm

Re: no wireless wifi showing up

Post by HAWR »

The run the command in the terminal. The best is to copy and paste it to have no faults with the right setting of the signs. I think, it should be:

Code: Select all

sudo dpkg --configure -a

Mintyboi47
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 7:07 pm

Re: no wireless wifi showing up

Post by Mintyboi47 »

THANK YOU SO MUCH DUDE, IT WORKED

HAWR
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1299
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2019 1:15 pm

Re: no wireless wifi showing up <solved>

Post by HAWR »

You're welcome and done well :)

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”