Page 1 of 1

[SOLVED] Workspace "divided" in 4

Posted: Fri Dec 13, 2019 1:44 pm
by filosophem
Hello Everyone,

I have something rather weird happening here since I replaced my computer screen by a television.

My workspaces are divided in 4 :
Screenshot at 2019-12-13 18-23-09.png
Screenshot at 2019-12-13 18-23-09.png (328 Bytes) Viewed 473 times
That causes all of the bottoms of my windows to be "hidden" by the bottom panel which is quite annoying.

I use Linux Mint 18.3 + Kernel 4.15.0-60-generic (architecture: x86-64) and Mate 1.18.0

Can anyone give me an hint where to look?

bby

Re: Workspace "divided" in 4

Posted: Fri Dec 13, 2019 5:52 pm
by MrEen
If I'm understanding you correctly, just right click on it and choose Properties. Change Number of rows to 1. I'm using Xfce, so it may be a little different in MATE.

Re: Workspace "divided" in 4

Posted: Sat Dec 14, 2019 4:06 am
by tenfoot
Using LM v19.2 Mate

Just right click on Workspaces and choose Preference and select the configuration you want.

Re: Workspace "divided" in 4

Posted: Sat Dec 14, 2019 5:23 am
by filosophem
Thanks for the replies but in the workspace preferences I already have "Show all workspaces in 1 row" and "number of workspaces : 2"

Re: Workspace "divided" in 4

Posted: Sat Dec 14, 2019 11:18 am
by Hoser Rob
Not sure about solution but you need to post more info, copy/paste the text output in inxi -Fxz run in the terminal.

Re: Workspace "divided" in 4

Posted: Sat Dec 14, 2019 1:18 pm
by filosophem
Here it is:

Code: Select all

$ inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: Filosophem-PC Kernel: 4.15.0-60-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: MATE 1.18.0 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
           Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Machine:   Mobo: ASUSTeK model: P5Q v: Rev 1.xx
           Bios: American Megatrends v: 2102 date: 04/07/2009
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core2 Quad Q9550 (-MCP-) cache: 6144 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 22661
           clock speeds: max: 2833 MHz 1: 1999 MHz 2: 1999 MHz 3: 2029 MHz
           4: 2129 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GK208B [GeForce GT 730] bus-ID: 01:00.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 driver: nvidia
           Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: GeForce GT 730/PCIe/SSE2
           GLX Version: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 440.31 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 NVIDIA GK208 HDMI/DP Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 01:00.1
           Card-2 Intel 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Card-3 Logitech QuickCam Zoom driver: USB Audio usb-ID: 007-002
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.0-60-generic
Network:   Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros AR8121/AR8113/AR8114 Gigabit or Fast Ethernet
           driver: ATL1E port: ec00 bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: enp2s0 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros AR9227 Wireless Network Adapter
           driver: ath9k bus-ID: 04:00.0
           IF: wlp4s0 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1768.4GB (69.4% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: SAMSUNG_HD103SJ size: 1000.2GB
           ID-2: /dev/sdb model: SAMSUNG_HD642JJ size: 640.1GB
           ID-3: /dev/sdc model: M4 size: 128.0GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 21G used: 17G (85%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdc2
           ID-2: /home size: 89G used: 76G (91%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdc3
           ID-3: swap-1 size: 8.59GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sdc1
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 28.5C mobo: 32.0C gpu: 0.0:40C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 2008 psu: 0 sys-1: 0 sys-2: 0
Info:      Processes: 230 Uptime: 7:56 Memory: 3220.8/7976.6MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35 

Re: Workspace "divided" in 4

Posted: Sat Dec 14, 2019 1:27 pm
by MrEen
I wonder if running mate-panel --replace in the terminal might fix it. Although I'm sure you've rebooted which would have the same effect.

EDIT: Maybe try changing number of workspaces to 4 or 8 then changing it back to 2.

Re: Workspace "divided" in 4

Posted: Sun Dec 15, 2019 2:26 pm
by filosophem
Thanks MrEen for your suggestions.

Tried both with no luck. Even tried to set only one workspace, it still was "divided in 4".

Re: Workspace "divided" in 4

Posted: Sun Dec 15, 2019 2:43 pm
by MrEen
As an experiment on my 18.3 Xfce install, I added another Workplace Switcher to my panel. It let me do it, and had a really weird look to it, though not quite the same as what you're experiencing. Is it possible to remove the Workspace Switcher in MATE's panel. When I removed mine, it only removed the new one and left me with my normal Workspace Switcher still functioning as normal. Is it possible yours was added multiple times?

Re: Workspace "divided" in 4

Posted: Sun Dec 15, 2019 9:22 pm
by decrepit
I've just tried in my mate desktop and yes it completely disappears. Right click on it, hit remove from panel

Re: Workspace "divided" in 4

Posted: Mon Dec 16, 2019 1:55 pm
by filosophem
I did remove the applet the reboot then put the applet back :( still the same

It's astonishing how something this "simple" can be hard to nail

Re: Workspace "divided" in 4

Posted: Mon Dec 16, 2019 3:11 pm
by filosophem
I found this thread : https://askubuntu.com/questions/348438/ ... to-default

I did the

Code: Select all

rm  -rf ~/.compiz-1 ~/.config/compiz-1
and log out and log in again

Got my 2 workspaces back as they were. Apparently, compiz is to blame ...

I will see if this last a while then I'll mark the thread as solved

Re: Workspace "divided" in 4

Posted: Mon Dec 16, 2019 4:58 pm
by MrEen
Nice work, filosophem!

I have to admin, I never would have thought of Compiz as being part of the issue. Well done.

Re: Workspace "divided" in 4

Posted: Fri Dec 20, 2019 6:34 am
by filosophem
Nothing weird in the applet since monday :D

Problem solved I think

Thank you all for the help !