[Solved] Burning important data what software and any more advice?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
totally lost
Level 2
Level 2

[Solved] Burning important data what software and any more advice?

Post by totally lost »

Running linux mint cinnamon 19.3 in a Virtual box. I just started learning this operating system and i find myself in a spot needing to burn some Blu Ray M-discs and some DVD M-discs. I have been searching around and gained more questions haha Being these are M-discs i am wanting to burn not only are they costly discs they will be getting very important data put on them and expected to be readable many years from now. I really need to minimize the trial and error here for both reasons so i thought it was best to ask first before i get started burning up expensive disc's. So to the questions.

1 What burner software would you recommend for my task?
2 I was reading about some burner software having some sort of way to check the image burned. Is this something i would need and/or offered in a linux software?
3 Is there any more information i should know before taking on such a task? Maybe settings or work flows or any info i may not know and should before i make a big mistake. Remember this data is important to me. I would really like some advice from more experienced people. If it was just a movie i would just trial and error it.
4 Is this a bad idea to take on this task in a operating system i don't know more then a week?
5 Is it a bad idea to do this with a virtual machine or any possible problems being in a virtual machine?