How can I get my display scale below 1 (100%)?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
NickMint
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2019 11:03 am

How can I get my display scale below 1 (100%)?

Post by NickMint »

Hello guys. How can I set my Display scale below 1? I tried with xrandr but it says "failed to parse 0.9 as a scaling factor" (can't set below 1). Is there any way to set it below 1? I'm using the default display drivers (open-source)

User avatar
trytip
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4252
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: How can I get my display scale below 1 (100%)?

Post by trytip »

works fine here the lowest you can go is 0.5 but you could probably go even lower if you set the correct font sizes. why you'd want such small fonts when most of us want them larger is escaping me right now.

Image

why are you trying to use xrandr? we are not in 1998 this is 2020 :D
Image

NickMint
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2019 11:03 am

Re: How can I get my display scale below 1 (100%)?

Post by NickMint »

I need to scale everything down. Not just the fonts.

Hoser Rob
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5971
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:57 am

Re: How can I get my display scale below 1 (100%)?

Post by Hoser Rob »

trytip wrote:
Sun Dec 29, 2019 11:27 am
... why are you trying to use xrandr? we are not in 1998 this is 2020 ...
Kinda what I was thinking. You need to post more info, copy/paste the text output of inxi -Fxz run in the terminal.

Granularity with video often seems to haves something to do with the drivers and/or the age of the card.

NickMint
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2019 11:03 am

Re: How can I get my display scale below 1 (100%)?

Post by NickMint »

Code: Select all

System:
  Host: nentor Kernel: 5.0.0-32-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc 
  v: 7.4.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 4.4.5 Distro: Linux Mint 19.3 Tricia 
  base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic 
Machine:
  Type: Laptop System: LENOVO product: 20217 v: Lenovo IdeaPad Y510P 
  serial: <filter> 
  Mobo: LENOVO model: VIQY0Y1 serial: <filter> UEFI: LENOVO 
  v: 74CN44WW(V3.05) date: 09/18/2013 
Battery:
  ID-1: BAT1 charge: 53.0 Wh condition: 53.0/56.4 Wh (94%) 
  model: LENOVO PABAS0241231 status: Full 
CPU:
  Topology: Quad Core model: Intel Core i7-4700MQ bits: 64 type: MT MCP 
  arch: Haswell rev: 3 L2 cache: 6144 KiB 
  flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 38309 
  Speed: 1377 MHz min/max: 800/3400 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1617 2: 1505 
  3: 1509 4: 1514 5: 1546 6: 1627 7: 1542 8: 1611 
Graphics:
  Device-1: NVIDIA GK107M [GeForce GT 755M] vendor: Lenovo driver: nouveau 
  v: kernel bus ID: 01:00.0 
  Device-2: NVIDIA GK107M [GeForce GT 755M] vendor: Lenovo driver: nouveau 
  v: kernel bus ID: 07:00.0 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.4 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa 
  tty: N/A 
  OpenGL: renderer: NVE7 v: 4.3 Mesa 19.0.8 direct render: Yes 
Audio:
  Device-1: Intel 8 Series/C220 Series High Definition Audio vendor: Lenovo 
  driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:1b.0 
  Device-2: NVIDIA GK107 HDMI Audio vendor: Lenovo driver: snd_hda_intel 
  v: kernel bus ID: 01:00.1 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.0.0-32-generic 
Network:
  Device-1: Qualcomm Atheros QCA8171 Gigabit Ethernet vendor: Lenovo 
  driver: alx v: kernel port: 3000 bus ID: 08:00.0 
  IF: enp8s0 state: down mac: <filter> 
  Device-2: Intel Centrino Wireless-N 2230 driver: iwlwifi v: kernel 
  port: 3000 bus ID: 09:00.0 
  IF: wlp9s0 state: up mac: <filter> 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 931.51 GiB used: 7.19 GiB (0.8%) 
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Seagate model: ST1000LM014-SSHD-8GB 
  size: 931.51 GiB 
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 100.18 GiB used: 7.16 GiB (7.1%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda7 
  ID-2: swap-1 size: 14.90 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda6 
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 48.0 C mobo: N/A 
  Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A 
  GPU: device: nouveau temp: 40 C device: nouveau temp: 49 C 
Info:
  Processes: 242 Uptime: 2m Memory: 15.61 GiB used: 1.28 GiB (8.2%) 
  Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 7.4.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.20 
  inxi: 3.0.32 
That's the output. I'm using the default open-source graphics drivers. Also, I'm using an external monitor (ASUS VP249HE) and not the laptop's display. I managed to get my monitor to run in 75Hz by using xrandr:

Code: Select all

xrandr --output VGA-1 --mode 1920x1080 --rate 75
I also found a way to downscale with xrandr but everything gets blurry (and it gets reset every time I shut down the laptop). Is there a better way to downscale?

User avatar
trytip
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4252
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: How can I get my display scale below 1 (100%)?

Post by trytip »

NickMint wrote:
Sun Dec 29, 2019 1:47 pm
That's the output. I'm using the default open-source graphics drivers. Also, I'm using an external monitor (ASUS VP249HE) and not the laptop's display. I managed to get my monitor to run in 75Hz by using xrandr:

Code: Select all

xrandr --output VGA-1 --mode 1920x1080 --rate 75
I also found a way to downscale with xrandr but everything gets blurry (and it gets reset every time I shut down the laptop). Is there a better way to downscale?
downscale what? every aspect has different sizes. qt apps use one setting, gtk2 another, gtk3 yet another and now gtk4 comes in to play as will as plasma and kde elements.
if you mean one click and everything magically is what you want, that's in an alternate universe where developers and users are on the same page. wait till you see what the new gnome desktop brings and how many changes they have made making all out themes and scripts obsolete.

you still are not specific enough.
Image

NickMint
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2019 11:03 am

Re: How can I get my display scale below 1 (100%)?

Post by NickMint »

trytip wrote:
Sun Dec 29, 2019 4:45 pm
NickMint wrote:
Sun Dec 29, 2019 1:47 pm
That's the output. I'm using the default open-source graphics drivers. Also, I'm using an external monitor (ASUS VP249HE) and not the laptop's display. I managed to get my monitor to run in 75Hz by using xrandr:

Code: Select all

xrandr --output VGA-1 --mode 1920x1080 --rate 75
I also found a way to downscale with xrandr but everything gets blurry (and it gets reset every time I shut down the laptop). Is there a better way to downscale?
downscale what? every aspect has different sizes. qt apps use one setting, gtk2 another, gtk3 yet another and now gtk4 comes in to play as will as plasma and kde elements.
if you mean one click and everything magically is what you want, that's in an alternate universe where developers and users are on the same page. wait till you see what the new gnome desktop brings and how many changes they have made making all out themes and scripts obsolete.

you still are not specific enough.
I want to downscale the applications' windows, the desktop icons, the fonts in every application and the start menu. I want to accomplish the effect of xrandr with the scaling option of 1.2x1.2 but without compromising picture quality.

User avatar
trytip
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4252
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: How can I get my display scale below 1 (100%)?

Post by trytip »

NickMint wrote:
Sun Dec 29, 2019 5:22 pm
oh, xrandr? i never use it. you seem to not know what specific means :mrgreen: you want to do at least 4 things with one command. did i not just get done splaining that "every aspect has different sizes. qt apps use one setting, gtk2 another, gtk3 yet another and now gtk4 comes in to play as will as plasma and kde elements"

and BTW why are you using xrandr to get 75Hz, nevermind i don't want to know.
Image

Kadaitcha Man
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 455
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:17 pm

Re: How can I get my display scale below 1 (100%)?

Post by Kadaitcha Man »

trytip wrote:
Sun Dec 29, 2019 4:45 pm
if you mean one click and everything magically is what you want, that's in an alternate universe where developers and users are on the same page...
Erm, what universe is that? I've never even seen them on the same planet.
It's kad-eye-cha, not kada-itcha.

NickMint
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2019 11:03 am

Re: How can I get my display scale below 1 (100%)?

Post by NickMint »

trytip wrote:
Sun Dec 29, 2019 10:27 pm
NickMint wrote:
Sun Dec 29, 2019 5:22 pm
oh, xrandr? i never use it. you seem to not know what specific means :mrgreen: you want to do at least 4 things with one command. did i not just get done splaining that "every aspect has different sizes. qt apps use one setting, gtk2 another, gtk3 yet another and now gtk4 comes in to play as will as plasma and kde elements"

and BTW why are you using xrandr to get 75Hz, nevermind i don't want to know.
Well, if you know a more elegant way of making my monitor work on 75Hz then tell me :)

So, is there a way to downscale them or not?

User avatar
JerryF
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4169
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: How can I get my display scale below 1 (100%)?

Post by JerryF »

Maybe you can set a different screen resolution and MHz on the monitor itself?
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your ORIGINAL post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members when browsing posts.

User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1946
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: How can I get my display scale below 1 (100%)?

Post by absque fenestris »

Graphics:
Device-1: NVIDIA GK107M [GeForce GT 755M] vendor: Lenovo driver: nouveau
v: kernel bus ID: 01:00.0
Device-2: NVIDIA GK107M [GeForce GT 755M] vendor: Lenovo driver: nouveau
v: kernel bus ID: 07:00.0
Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.4 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa
tty: N/A
OpenGL: renderer: NVE7 v: 4.3 Mesa 19.0.8 direct render: Yes
That's the output. I'm using the default open-source graphics drivers. Also, I'm using an external monitor (ASUS VP249HE) and not the laptop's display. I managed to get my monitor to run in 75Hz by using xrandr:

Code: Select all

xrandr --output VGA-1 --mode 1920x1080 --rate 75
I also found a way to downscale with xrandr but everything gets blurry (and it gets reset every time I shut down the laptop). Is there a better way to downscale?
[/quote]

Your Asus screen:
Signal Frequency
Analog Signal Frequency : 24 ~84 KHz (H) /50 ~75 Hz(V)
Digital Signal Frequency : 24 ~84 KHz (H) /50 ~75 Hz(V)
https://www.asus.com/Monitors/VP249HE/specifications/

I would try the Nvidia graphics driver first - instead of Nouveau. Xrandr can be used if nothing else works.
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia (Mate) 32-bit - Acer D250 Netbook (Intel Atom N270, 2 GB RAM, 120 GB SSD)
Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa (Mate) 64-bit - MacBook Pro 15" (Intel Core2 Duo, 8 GB RAM, 240 GB SSD) - with some separation difficulties...

NickMint
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2019 11:03 am

Re: How can I get my display scale below 1 (100%)?

Post by NickMint »

Unfortunately, I can't get the Nvidia driver to work no matter what I do.
Image

User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1946
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: How can I get my display scale below 1 (100%)?

Post by absque fenestris »

Machine:
Type: Laptop System: LENOVO product: 20217 v: Lenovo IdeaPad Y510P
serial: <filter>
Mobo: LENOVO model: VIQY0Y1 serial: <filter> UEFI: LENOVO
v: 74CN44WW(V3.05) date: 09/18/2013
https://www.lenovo.com/us/en/laptops/le ... ies/y510p/

Your Lenovo is probably of 2013. Working Nvidia drivers for Linux should be available. Nouveau offers really no possibilities and, especially in two-screen operation, the Nvidia driver can't get around (own experience > 2 monitors on a Quadro card). Striking Nvidia graphics drivers are annoying, that's true, but Nouveau is an imposition.
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia (Mate) 32-bit - Acer D250 Netbook (Intel Atom N270, 2 GB RAM, 120 GB SSD)
Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa (Mate) 64-bit - MacBook Pro 15" (Intel Core2 Duo, 8 GB RAM, 240 GB SSD) - with some separation difficulties...

NickMint
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2019 11:03 am

Re: How can I get my display scale below 1 (100%)?

Post by NickMint »

absque fenestris wrote:
Mon Dec 30, 2019 10:43 am
Machine:
Type: Laptop System: LENOVO product: 20217 v: Lenovo IdeaPad Y510P
serial: <filter>
Mobo: LENOVO model: VIQY0Y1 serial: <filter> UEFI: LENOVO
v: 74CN44WW(V3.05) date: 09/18/2013
https://www.lenovo.com/us/en/laptops/le ... ies/y510p/

Your Lenovo is probably of 2013. Working Nvidia drivers for Linux should be available. Nouveau offers really no possibilities and, especially in two-screen operation, the Nvidia driver can't get around (own experience > 2 monitors on a Quadro card). Striking Nvidia graphics drivers are annoying, that's true, but Nouveau is an imposition.
I tackled it again. I tried 2 manual drivers for my video card from the nvidia site and followed their instructions. The drivers install fine but they don't load. Also tried the drivers in the drivers manager. I tried so many things but to no avail.

User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1946
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: How can I get my display scale below 1 (100%)?

Post by absque fenestris »

The bad news: now you probably have a few drivers too much.
Please look at this thread: also Nvidia and also botched settings. Simple? No, setting up the damn graphic is not simple.

viewtopic.php?f=59&t=308289

If I look at your Monitor: as I calculated - it has 92 pixels per inch, that should really not cause any problems of any kind. This is normal industry standard for at least 12 years. The poor display and desktop quality is not on the Monitor, and not at the native resolution of 1920 x 1080 pixel. There are incorrect settings - and even worse xrandr manipulations not make it better.

I would put the ~75 Hz settings at the very end. Only when the graphics card and the desktop settings are properly adjusted, you can judge whether a frequency change is better or worse.
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia (Mate) 32-bit - Acer D250 Netbook (Intel Atom N270, 2 GB RAM, 120 GB SSD)
Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa (Mate) 64-bit - MacBook Pro 15" (Intel Core2 Duo, 8 GB RAM, 240 GB SSD) - with some separation difficulties...

NickMint
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2019 11:03 am

Re: How can I get my display scale below 1 (100%)?

Post by NickMint »

absque fenestris wrote:
Mon Dec 30, 2019 2:30 pm
The bad news: now you probably have a few drivers too much.
Please look at this thread: also Nvidia and also botched settings. Simple? No, setting up the damn graphic is not simple.

viewtopic.php?f=59&t=308289

If I look at your Monitor: as I calculated - it has 92 pixels per inch, that should really not cause any problems of any kind. This is normal industry standard for at least 12 years. The poor display and desktop quality is not on the Monitor, and not at the native resolution of 1920 x 1080 pixel. There are incorrect settings - and even worse xrandr manipulations not make it better.

I would put the ~75 Hz settings at the very end. Only when the graphics card and the desktop settings are properly adjusted, you can judge whether a frequency change is better or worse.
Don't worry about that. I've purged the nvidia drivers and re-enabled the Nouveau driver.

I haven't said the monitors looks bad. Heck no, It looks even better than on Windows. The thing is I'm not used to the size of the apps. Anyway, I will just modify my Firefox a bit and make the fonts smaller for every app from the system settings.
Also I don't have any problems with the Nouveau driver. Animations work and everything is perfect and fast. And my monitor runs in 75Hz without any problems.

But it'd be great If I could get the proprietary driver to work.

Here's a picture of the monitor I just took:
https://i.imgur.com/zZ5MDG7.jpg

User avatar
BG405
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1965
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 3:09 pm
Location: England

Re: How can I get my display scale below 1 (100%)?

Post by BG405 »

For scaling you could look in to "newrez" which I was using on my D255E to make its 1024x600 display more practically useable. The results were quite good considering the physical limitations.

As for xrandr; great tool for managing displays & this is how I've gotten round issues with bad cables etc. causing the monitors to not be detected correctly.
Dell Inspiron 1525 - LM17.3 CE 64-------------------Lenovo T440 8GB - Manjaro KDE with Mint VMs
Toshiba NB250 - Manjaro KDE------------------------K7S5A AMD 1.2GHz - LM17.3 Xfce 32 & WinXP-Pro
Acer Aspire E11 ES1-111M - LM18.2 KDE 64 ----Dell PII 350 64MB - Puppy 4.3 & Win98-SE

User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1946
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: How can I get my display scale below 1 (100%)?

Post by absque fenestris »

BG405 wrote:
Tue Dec 31, 2019 1:48 am
... ...
As for xrandr; great tool for managing displays & this is how I've gotten round issues with bad cables etc. causing the monitors to not be detected correctly.
Of course, you end up using the xrandr-settings. But in xrandr you can also set many things very wrong.
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia (Mate) 32-bit - Acer D250 Netbook (Intel Atom N270, 2 GB RAM, 120 GB SSD)
Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa (Mate) 64-bit - MacBook Pro 15" (Intel Core2 Duo, 8 GB RAM, 240 GB SSD) - with some separation difficulties...

User avatar
trytip
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4252
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: How can I get my display scale below 1 (100%)?

Post by trytip »

nvidia-295 had so many features i could downscale/upscale the monitor resolution with it's settings. my dual monitor/tv had exactly the same "landscape" meaning the same thing i see on my monitor native resolution is the same thing i see on my tv native resolution. things have changed quite drastic from nvidia-295
this will give you a perspective on what nvidia you have installed. if you can get a good nvidia driver installed, there are many thing you can do. BUT you have to do specific things. in linux one setting will not rule them all

Code: Select all

dpkg -l *nvidia*
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”