How to make hard drives read only?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
hepme
Level 1
Level 1

How to make hard drives read only?

Post by hepme »

I have a hard drive with movies on it and want to insure it is not messed-up inadvertently. Can I make it READ-ONLY?
thanks

pebcak
Level 1
Level 1

Re: How to make hard drives read only?

Post by pebcak »

I am relatively new to Linux and very new to this forum but the following link is worth to read through:
https://www.addictivetips.com/ubuntu-li ... -on-linux/
See as well man mount and mount --help

grellyd
Level 1
Level 1

Post by grellyd »

As pebcak mentioned, take a look at the `mount` command.

Assuming you are mounting the drive manually, you can do something like `mount -o ro /dev/sda1 /mnt/hd0`.

If you want it automatically mounted, you will have to edit your fstab file and add in an entry for the drive. There as well you can specify the read only option.

There is an interesting caution from mount's man page; you may still get journalling and other minor writes, but I suspect no change to your data.

From https://linux.die.net/man/8/mount:

Code: Select all

-r, --read-only
Mount the filesystem read-only. A synonym is -o ro.
Note that, depending on the filesystem type, state and kernel behavior, the system may still write to the device. 
For example, Ext3 or ext4 will replay its journal if the filesystem is dirty. 
To prevent this kind of write access, you may want to mount ext3 or ext4 filesystem with "ro,noload" mount options or set the block device to read-only mode, see command blockdev(8).

hepme
Level 1
Level 1

Post by hepme »