[SOLVED] Can I upgrade from 19.1 to 19.3, skipping 19.2?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
Fredashay
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 6:15 pm
Location: About 200 chunks west of spawn
Contact:

[SOLVED] Can I upgrade from 19.1 to 19.3, skipping 19.2?

Post by Fredashay »

I'm still running 19.1 because when I upgraded to 19.2, Firefox crashed whenever I launched it. I suspect that's because of my GPU. I just installed 19.3 on a virgin hard drive on that same machine, and everything works fine. Can I put my 19.1 HDD back in that machine and upgrade to 19.3, skipping over 19.2?
Last edited by Fredashay on Sat Jan 11, 2020 2:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Into computer gaming and HO model railroading. I run a Minecraft server and write plugins in Java for my server.
My Server -- https://minecraft-server-list.com/server/271259/
My Plugins -- https://www.spigotmc.org/resources/auth ... hay.38349/
User avatar
LanceM
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3289
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:50 pm

Re: Can I upgrade from 19.1 to 19.3, skipping 19.2?

Post by LanceM »

If it's offered in the Update Manager it should be fine. Always make a Timeshift snapshot first. I prefer the following settings for full recovery:
Ignores-Data-In-Home.jpg
To mark this issue solved, go to your original 1st post and click the edit pencil and add [Solved] at the beginning of the title and click Submit.
Mint accepts donations: https://linuxmint.com/donors.php
User avatar
Fredashay
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 6:15 pm
Location: About 200 chunks west of spawn
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Can I upgrade from 19.1 to 19.3, skipping 19.2?

Post by Fredashay »

I upgraded from 19.1 to 19.3 last night and everything seems to work today, even Firefox! Thank you!
Into computer gaming and HO model railroading. I run a Minecraft server and write plugins in Java for my server.
My Server -- https://minecraft-server-list.com/server/271259/
My Plugins -- https://www.spigotmc.org/resources/auth ... hay.38349/
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”