<Solved> How to lock system tray in place

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
morelia1976
Level 1
Level 1

<Solved> How to lock system tray in place

Post by morelia1976 »

Sorry, I am completely new to Linux, having decided I don't want to convert to Windows 10.
I was following a How-to on helping Mint XFCE 19.3 look like XP when I somehow unlocked my system tray. It now moves to the left of the panel depending on how many apps I have open; multiple internet searches have not given any answers.
screenshot1.png
screenshot2.png
You can see the difference in these screenshots. Any assistance would be appreciated.
Last edited by morelia1976 on Sun Jan 12, 2020 7:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

MrEen
Level 16
Level 16

Re: How to lock system tray in place

Post by MrEen »

Hi morelia1976, and welcome to the forum.

Right click on the bar in front of the bell icon and choose Properties. Now click on the check box for Expand and I think that'll fix you.

It's up to, you can also make that bar invisible by selecting Transparent for the Style.

ZFR
Level 1
Level 1

Post by ZFR »

Yo. I started using Mint couple of days ago for the very same reason (rather than switching to Win 10). I use Cinnamon, but tried xfce for a couple of hours so happy to help since I ran into the same issue.

Right click to the left of the systray in the small empty area between it and the launchers. You'll know you've hit the right spot if it says "Separator" on top. Then click properties and tick "Expand".

EDIT: Looks like MrEen beat me to the answer.

morelia1976
Level 1
Level 1

Post by morelia1976 »