[Solved] Update error?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
haystack
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2020 4:01 pm
Location: USA

[Solved] Update error?

Post by haystack »

Hi all.

I'm running Mint 19.3, and I've got some updates that are waiting to be installed. I tried clicking on "Install Updates", but I got a window that said an error occurred with a dialogue box that says:

E: dpkg was interrupted, you must manually run 'dpkg -- configure -a' to correct the problem.
E: _cache->open() failed, please report.

I've never come across this before and I have no idea what to do. Any help would be appreciated.
Last edited by haystack on Mon Feb 03, 2020 9:47 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8024
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Update error?

Post by MrEen »

Hi haystack.

Open a terminal and plug this in then hit Enter:

Code: Select all

sudo dpkg -- configure -a
When it's done, run apt update and if there's no errors, you should be good to go.

User avatar
haystack
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2020 4:01 pm
Location: USA

Re: Update error?

Post by haystack »

Okay, so I typed in 'sudo dpkg -- configure -a', entered my password, and this is what it gave me:

dpkg: error: need an action option

Type dpkg --help for help about installing and deinstalling packages [*];
Use 'apt' or 'aptitude' for user-friendly package management;
Type dpkg -Dhelp for a list of dpkg debug flag values;
Type dpkg --force-help for a list of forcing options;
Type dpkg-deb --help for help about manipulating *.deb files;

uhh...

User avatar
karlchen
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 12306
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: Update error?

Post by karlchen »

Correct commandline:

Code: Select all

sudo dpkg --configure -a
a space between dpkg and --configure and a space between --configure and -a. No space inside --configure.
Image
Linux Mint 19.2 64-bit Cinnamon, Total Commander 9.22a 64-bit
Haß gleicht einer Krankheit, dem Miserere, wo man vorne herausgibt, was eigentlich hinten wegsollte. (Goethe)

User avatar
MrEen
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8024
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Update error?

Post by MrEen »

I thought that looked weird. I even did a quick search and saw it suggested in other threads.

My apologies, haystack. :oops:

User avatar
MrEen
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8024
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Update error?

Post by MrEen »

I thought that looked weird. I even did a quick search and saw it suggested in other threads.

My apologies, haystack. :oops:

EDIT: When I searched earlier, my eyes must have been playing tricks on me. All references I find now are only the correct command.

decrepit
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2018 4:07 am
Location: Mandurah Western Australia

Re: Update error?

Post by decrepit »

Eyes are good at that!

User avatar
MrEen
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8024
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Update error?

Post by MrEen »

decrepit wrote:
Mon Feb 03, 2020 8:44 pm
Eyes are good at that!
HAHAHA. Indeed! Thanks to your reply I now see I must have hit the wrong button to edit my post and ended up with an additional post!

User avatar
haystack
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2020 4:01 pm
Location: USA

Re: Update error?

Post by haystack »

No worries guys. I entered the correct command and got it done. Or at least I believe so. I entered the first command, then my password, it appeared to work, so I then entered 'apt update', it then updated. I then got this:

'20 packages can be upgraded. Run 'apt list --upgradable' to see them.'

I entered 'apt list --upgradable', and it made a list.

I entered what I thought would update one of the things on the list, but I was wrong. It said I should try 'sudo apt install tlp', which I entered that command and it starting updating. I believe it updated something, but my question is, when I entered 'sudo apt install tlp', did that install all the updates on that list?

User avatar
MrEen
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8024
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Update error?

Post by MrEen »

haystack wrote:
Mon Feb 03, 2020 9:27 pm
I believe it updated something, but my question is, when I entered 'sudo apt install tlp', did that install all the updates on that list?
No. Which you can verify if you wish by running apt list --upgradable again.

You can just go back to using the Update Manager to update things now so you don't have to do everything individually. Hit Refresh first when it opens so everything upgradable will be there.

User avatar
haystack
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2020 4:01 pm
Location: USA

Re: Update error?

Post by haystack »

Thanks for the input everyone. I was able to open the update manager and get everything updated. I really appreciate all the help.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”