How to set environment variables for the calibre program (to get dark theme) in Mint Cinnamon [solved]

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
pepperminty
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 976
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:51 pm

How to set environment variables for the calibre program (to get dark theme) in Mint Cinnamon [solved]

Post by pepperminty »

I'd like to change the theme of Calibre and the developer has made his program quite customizable: https://manual.calibre-ebook.com/customize.html#id1 . According to that link, we can use "CALIBRE_USE_SYSTEM_THEME".

My question is: How do we set this environment variable on Linux Mint Cinnamon?

Thanks!
Last edited by pepperminty on Sat Mar 28, 2020 8:05 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
karlchen
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13704
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: How to set environment variables for the calibre program in Mint Cinnamon.

Post by karlchen »

pepperminty wrote:
Fri Mar 20, 2020 1:34 pm
How do we set this environment variable on Linux Mint Cinnamon?
In the same what as on Linux Mint xfce, Linux Mint Mate and even on Ubuntu. :wink:
Image
Linux Mint 19.3 64-bit Cinnamon, Total Commander 9.51 64-bit
User avatar
pepperminty
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 976
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: How to set environment variables for the calibre program in Mint Cinnamon.

Post by pepperminty »

some minter helped me with this:

env CALIBRE_USE_DARK_PALETTE=1 calibre .

i then just modified the command line in the calibre shortcut i dragged from my mint menu to the panel
User avatar
karlchen
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13704
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: How to set environment variables for the calibre program in Mint Cinnamon [solved]

Post by karlchen »

In analogy, the variable CALIBRE_USE_SYSTEM_THEME could be set in the same way:
env CALIBRE_USE_SYSTEM_THEME=1 calibre
Really, the online help could be a bit more specific on how to set the (optional) environment variables on Linux systems. :(
Image
Linux Mint 19.3 64-bit Cinnamon, Total Commander 9.51 64-bit
User avatar
pepperminty
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 976
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: How to set environment variables for the calibre program in Mint Cinnamon [solved]

Post by pepperminty »

karichen,
initially, i tried env CALIBRE_USE_SYSTEM_THEME=1 calibre but it did nothing. i then tried env CALIBRE_USE_DARK_PALETTE=1 calibre and it worked. the developer said he didn't give instructions for linux because there's multiple answers (because there's multiple linux flavors)
wopaterno
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 9:13 pm

Re: How to set environment variables for the calibre program in Mint Cinnamon [solved]

Post by wopaterno »

Could you please send a screenshot I can't put in calibre dark mode in Linux mint 19.3 Cinnamon
Attachments
1.png
Last edited by wopaterno on Fri Mar 27, 2020 5:06 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
pepperminty
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 976
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: How to set environment variables for the calibre program in Mint Cinnamon [solved]

Post by pepperminty »

wopaterno wrote:
Fri Mar 27, 2020 4:58 pm
Could you please send a screenshot I can't put in caliber dark mode in Linux mint
screenshot of what?
User avatar
pepperminty
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 976
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: How to set environment variables for the calibre program in Mint Cinnamon [solved]

Post by pepperminty »

wopaterno wrote:
Fri Mar 27, 2020 4:58 pm
Could you please send a screenshot I can't put in caliber dark mode in Linux mint
you put the wrong one. you should put in this:

env CALIBRE_USE_DARK_PALETTE=1 calibre
wopaterno
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 9:13 pm

Re: How to set environment variables for the calibre program in Mint Cinnamon [solved]

Post by wopaterno »

No case, change the command and reboot the system and nothing
Attachments
2.png
1.png
User avatar
pepperminty
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 976
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: How to set environment variables for the calibre program in Mint Cinnamon [solved]

Post by pepperminty »

could you try opening a Terminal and running the same command

env CALIBRE_USE_DARK_PALETTE=1 calibre
wopaterno
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 9:13 pm

Re: How to set environment variables for the calibre program in Mint Cinnamon [solved]

Post by wopaterno »

Yes now, thank you !! I am happy
User avatar
pepperminty
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 976
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: How to set environment variables for the calibre program in Mint Cinnamon [solved]

Post by pepperminty »

You're welcome.
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”