Change Mint 4 to Mint 7 (I've got the ISO)

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Yakfly
Level 1
Level 1

Change Mint 4 to Mint 7 (I've got the ISO)

Post by Yakfly » Thu Aug 20, 2009 3:44 pm

Hi all
I'm new to linux and these might sound like really stupid questions but I've searched the forum and read the Linux Mint notes, but the actions to follow in the Linux Mint downloaded Manual don't match what happens on my computer (i.e. what options I'm given).
My system is set up to dual boot with Mint 4 and Windows XP. I need to keep XP as my family use it and they are not prepared/ capable of using something else. I loaded Mint 4 as I got sick of spam and other crap due to my family's use (misuse) of XP - thats kids for yer :roll:
I downloaded the Mint 7 ISO and it works if I boot from it so I know I've done that bit right. However, I have problems loading it (I think?)
My questions are:
1. The Mint manual states that Mint 7 will load to free space, free partitions on the PC. But there is no free space on my PC. Does this mean I have to delete Mint 4 from the partitions it is assigned to?
OR will Mint 7 automatically overwrite the partitions which have Mint 4 on them?
2. If I have to delete Mint 4 from the partitions it is assigned to (to make the free space) - How do I do it? I presume if I delete/reformat partitions in windows XP it will only do it in windows format (ie.fat 32 or whatever).
I realise this is probably a numpty question but if you can help, or point me to somewhere that can help, I would be most appreciative :wink:

emorrp1
Level 8
Level 8

Re: Change Mint 4 to Mint 7 (I've got the ISO)