LMDE 4 and MINT 19.3 with same HOME partition

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Seadreamer
Level 4
Level 4

LMDE 4 and MINT 19.3 with same HOME partition

Post by Seadreamer »

I have been using LinuxMint for several years always with a separate HOME partition. I would like to try duel booting with LMDE 4. Are there any issues with using the same home as 19.3? I am thinking about switching to LMDE but I have about 350 GB in my home that I would like to keep.
Homebrew Intel i7 8700k 32gb RAM
LinuxMint 19.3 Mate
Win 10 for games
kuifje09
Level 1
Level 1

Re: LMDE 4 and MINT 19.3 with same HOME partition

Post by kuifje09 »

Could be possible, but also dangerous.

If versions of applications differ from the one OS to the other, reconfiguring can take place.
Sometimes make a switch "back" impossible.

So it is depending a lot on what you have installed, But I would never recomment.
Kadaitcha Man
Level 11
Level 11

Post by Kadaitcha Man »

Seadreamer wrote:
Fri Mar 27, 2020 2:53 pm
Are there any issues with using the same home as 19.3? I am thinking about switching to LMDE but I have about 350 GB in my home that I would like to keep.
You are able to specify the /home location yourself in a manual/something else installation, but what you want to do isn't so simple.