[Solved} Wine installation failed

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
rob281291
Level 1
Level 1

[Solved} Wine installation failed

Post by rob281291 »

Hi all
I am a newbie to Linux having bought a new computer with Mint loaded. I am slowly getting the basics but have been using Windows and Macs for last 25 years so Linux is a whole new world.
I want to use a Windows application that works via Wine. I uploaded Wine as per the instructions via Software Manager but it didn't seem to work. So then I tried via the Terminal but that didn't work either. Wine appears in the application list but when I go to configure Wine the Configure Wine menu appears and under the heading Applications it shows "Default Settings". Do I need to do any more to configure Wine?
The Windows application I want to use is "Extract Now". I have downloaded the Extract Now application and it opens OK but wont let me do any configuration so it is not usable.
Is there any way of checking if Wine is working OK?
Thanks in advance
Last edited by rob281291 on Sun Jun 21, 2020 7:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

decrepit
Level 4
Level 4

Re: Wine installation failed

Post by decrepit »

wine sets itself up the first time you open a windows program.

If you want to try it, click, "show hidden files" in your file browser view menu. you should see .wine, have a look in there. here's where I find pre installed windows programs.
/home/mike/.wine/drive_c/windows
try double clicking notepad.exe

rob281291
Level 1
Level 1

Post by rob281291 »

Hi decrepit
OK, thanks for replying.
I looked in home and viewed hidden files. There is no "mike".