Major Difference between Cinnamon and Mate versions

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
kaman7580
Level 1
Level 1

Major Difference between Cinnamon and Mate versions

Post by kaman7580 »

Currently I have Ubuntu 20.04. I installed Linux Mint 19.3 on one of my older PCs and I was very impressed. Now I want to shift from Ubuntu to Mint. I want to know what's the biggest difference between Mate and Cinnamon. Specifically, what features will I be missing in Mate. I am a CS undergrad student. Most of my work on laptop is for programming, Machine Learning, etc. Would there be any specific things I might miss out on Mint if I leave Ubuntu? Please help, I am literally very confused.
majpooper
Level 6
Level 6

Re: Major Difference between Cinnamon and Mate versions

Post by majpooper »

kaman7580 wrote:
Sat Jul 04, 2020 9:45 am
Currently I have Ubuntu 20.04. I installed Linux Mint 19.3 on one of my older PCs and I was very impressed. Now I want to shift from Ubuntu to Mint. I want to know what's the biggest difference between Mate and Cinnamon. Specifically, what features will I be missing in Mate. I am a CS undergrad student. Most of my work on laptop is for programming, Machine Learning, etc. Would there be any specific things I might miss out on Mint if I leave Ubuntu? Please help, I am literally very confused.