VirtualBox--trying to add raw drive, access denied error

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
harfleur
Level 1
Level 1

VirtualBox--trying to add raw drive, access denied error

Post by harfleur »

Hi all--

I'm a complete newbie to Linux, and I'm trying to do something way out of my league here. I've managed to set up a VirtualBox machine (Mint 20) on my "regular" (physical?) Mint 20 machine. It works fine, but I want to set up access to a physical drive where I can keep files (system drive is really small). I found a tutorial and created a .vmdk file that points to the drive, but when I go into VirtualBox and try to add the drive, I get the following error:

Permission problem accessing the file for the medium '/home/user/VirtualBox VMs/Box1/DataDocs.vmdk' (VERR_ACCESS_DENIED).

The "other" drive is formatted as NTFS (so I could also hook this drive up to a Windows machine, if'n I wanted to).

I'm grateful for any help, since I have no idea what I'm doing! :-)

Thanks.
Pierre
Level 20
Level 20

Re: VirtualBox--trying to add raw drive, access denied error

Post by Pierre »

your main issue, would be that the 'other drive' is formatted to NTFS . .

there is no point is doing that, as any 'sharing' of the virtual drive(s) with the Windows System,
most probably won't work that well.

you should be able to move the .vmdk file, to another drive though,
- just an Linux based ext4 system . .
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.
spamegg
Level 4
Level 4

Post by spamegg »