[solved - !!] no sound in new 20 cinnamon install

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
jack_cat
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 1:41 pm

[solved - !!] no sound in new 20 cinnamon install

Post by jack_cat »

I installed Linux Mint Cinnamon 20 yesterday morning. I am a newbie.

I am not getting any sound through my headphones, plugged into the green jack in the back, which used to work with the old OS. I have been through a number of procedures to try to get the sound working, which I found recommended here and on other sites, and have achieved nothing, and sincerely hope that I haven't screwed anything up worse. (Ha. I feel like I am the proverbial monkey with the typewriter, taking advice from the same.) The headphones and the sound card were working fine in Audacity under Windows. I see that this is a common problem, and that the solution may be complex. I am not a professional nerd in any case, and I will need step-by-step help, thanks.

I have uploaded the system info below. I hope this is the right info.

So maybe we can go on to troubleshooting the sound card and headphones. Believe me, I have been through every sound configuration setting that I can find, but I will happily do it all again a step at a time under instruction.

thanks
jack

Code: Select all

System:    Kernel: 5.4.0-26-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 9.3.0 Desktop: MATE 1.24.0 
           wm: marco dm: LightDM Distro: Linux Mint 20 Ulyana base: Ubuntu 20.04 focal 
Machine:   Type: Desktop Mobo: Gigabyte model: AM1M-S2H v: x.x serial: <filter> 
           UEFI: American Megatrends v: F2 date: 06/20/2014 
CPU:       Topology: Quad Core model: AMD Athlon 5150 APU with Radeon R3 bits: 64 type: MCP 
           arch: Jaguar rev: 1 L2 cache: 2048 KiB 
           flags: avx lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm bogomips: 12774 
           Speed: 1597 MHz min/max: 800/1600 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1597 2: 1597 3: 1597 
           4: 1597 
Graphics:  Device-1: AMD Kabini [Radeon HD 8400 / R3 Series] vendor: Gigabyte driver: radeon 
           v: kernel bus ID: 00:01.0 chip ID: 1002:9830 
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.8 driver: ati,radeon unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa 
           compositor: marco resolution: 1280x1024~60Hz 
           OpenGL: renderer: AMD KABINI (DRM 2.50.0 5.4.0-26-generic LLVM 10.0.0) 
           v: 4.5 Mesa 20.0.8 direct render: Yes 
Audio:     Device-1: AMD Kabini HDMI/DP Audio vendor: Gigabyte driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel 
           bus ID: 00:01.1 chip ID: 1002:9840 
           Device-2: AMD FCH Azalia vendor: Gigabyte driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel 
           bus ID: 00:14.2 chip ID: 1022:780d 
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.4.0-26-generic 
Network:   Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet vendor: Gigabyte 
           driver: r8169 v: kernel port: e000 bus ID: 01:00.0 chip ID: 10ec:8168 
           IF: enp1s0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter> 
Drives:    Local Storage: total: 1.37 TiB used: 247.36 GiB (17.6%) 
           ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Toshiba model: DT01ACA100 size: 931.51 GiB speed: 6.0 Gb/s 
           serial: <filter> 
           ID-2: /dev/sdb type: USB vendor: Kingston model: DataTraveler 2.0 size: 7.32 GiB 
           speed: 6.0 Gb/s serial: <filter> 
           ID-3: /dev/sdc type: USB vendor: Western Digital model: WD My Passport 0730 
           size: 465.73 GiB serial: <filter> 
Partition: ID-1: / size: 915.40 GiB used: 59.83 GiB (6.5%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2 
USB:       Hub: 1-0:1 info: Full speed (or root) Hub ports: 4 rev: 2.0 chip ID: 1d6b:0002 
           Device-1: 1-1:2 info: Kingston Digital DataTraveler SE9 64GB type: Mass Storage 
           driver: usb-storage rev: 2.0 chip ID: 0951:1665 
           Device-2: 1-2:3 info: Western Digital My Passport Essential (WDBACY) type: Mass Storage 
           driver: usb-storage rev: 2.1 chip ID: 1058:0730 
           Hub: 2-0:1 info: Full speed (or root) Hub ports: 4 rev: 2.0 chip ID: 1d6b:0002 
           Hub: 3-0:1 info: Full speed (or root) Hub ports: 4 rev: 1.1 chip ID: 1d6b:0001 
           Hub: 4-0:1 info: Full speed (or root) Hub ports: 4 rev: 1.1 chip ID: 1d6b:0001 
           Device-3: 4-1:2 info: Logitech M105 Optical Mouse type: Mouse 
           driver: hid-generic,usbhid rev: 2.0 chip ID: 046d:c077 
           Hub: 5-0:1 info: Full speed (or root) Hub ports: 2 rev: 2.0 chip ID: 1d6b:0002 
           Device-4: 5-1:2 info: HP ScanJet G3010 type: <vendor specific> driver: N/A rev: 2.0 
           chip ID: 03f0:4205 
           Device-5: 5-2:3 info: Logitech Media Keyboard K200 type: Keyboard,HID 
           driver: hid-generic,usbhid rev: 1.1 chip ID: 046d:c31d 
           Hub: 6-0:1 info: Full speed (or root) Hub ports: 2 rev: 3.0 chip ID: 1d6b:0003 
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 17.0 C mobo: N/A gpu: radeon temp: 16 C 
           Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A 
Repos:     No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list 
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list 
           1: deb http: //packages.linuxmint.com ulyana main upstream import backport #id:linuxmint_main
           2: deb http: //archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal main restricted universe multiverse
           3: deb http: //archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal-updates main restricted universe multiverse
           4: deb http: //archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal-backports main restricted universe multiverse
           5: deb http: //security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ focal-security main restricted universe multiverse
           6: deb http: //archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ focal partner
Info:      Processes: 196 Uptime: 2h 38m Memory: 5.75 GiB used: 2.21 GiB (38.4%) Init: systemd 
           v: 245 runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 9.3.0 alt: 9 Client: Unknown python3.8 client 
           inxi: 3.0.38 
Last edited by jack_cat on Sat Jul 11, 2020 10:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
MrEen
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11790
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: no sound in new 20 cinnamon install

Post by MrEen »

Hi jack_cat,

To save a bunch of commands getting requested, just run this one and paste the output:

Code: Select all

curl https://gitlab.freedesktop.org/pulseaudio/pulseaudio/raw/master/src/utils/pa-info?inline=false | bash | nc termbin.com 9999
The last line of the output will contain a URL that points to your sound setup. That will probably be enough to figure out what's wrong.

P.S. You have the same sound device that I have, so I don't expect much trouble. Here's mine:

Code: Select all

Audio:     Card-1 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] FCH Azalia Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:14.2
jack_cat
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 1:41 pm

Re: no sound in new 20 cinnamon install

Post by jack_cat »

Mr. EEn, you are so kind to so highly estimate my intelligence and competence.
I ran the command as instructed, and got a long page of information from the URL given at the end, but I don't know what it means, and hope that you will interpret it. It runs to 80K characters, too large to embed here.
I have it in a text file, but this forum software will not allow me to attach it, either.

I even tried cutting it in two, and I still can't post it.
So, I am putting it on the back of my website, and will put the URL in the next post.
Since this system is new, now I have to configure my FTP again. Back soon.
thanks
jack
jack_cat
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 1:41 pm

Re: no sound in new 20 cinnamon install

Post by jack_cat »

Here are the results of the command which I ran in the terminal:

http://jackandfrances.com/download/Soun ... ts_001.txt

I checked the link and it works.
thanks
jack
User avatar
MrEen
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11790
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: no sound in new 20 cinnamon install

Post by MrEen »

That script should have autoamtically uploaded the info and given you a URL on the last of about 5 lines, but I'm guessing for some reason it executed on your system but then output to you instead of termbin.

Anyway, I'm looking through the output now. Will let you know what I find.
User avatar
MrEen
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11790
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: no sound in new 20 cinnamon install

Post by MrEen »

One thing I'd like you to try is to run alsamixer -c1 in the terminal. Arrow over to the Channel Mode column (it may start off being off screen, keep arrowing over to the right) theun use the up or down arrow key to change it from 2ch to 6ch then test your sound.

Also, using PulseAudio Volume Control (pavucontrol) instead of your default Sound Settings might help.

And one other thing to check. Boot to Windows and ensure Fast Startup is turned off, then shut down, don't reboot. Wait 2 minutes then power up into Mint and test the sound.
jack_cat
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 1:41 pm

Re: no sound in new 20 cinnamon install

Post by jack_cat »

MrEen wrote:
Fri Jul 10, 2020 7:58 pm
One thing I'd like you to try is to run alsamixer -c1 in the terminal. Arrow over to the Channel Mode column (it may start off being off screen, keep arrowing over to the right) theun use the up or down arrow key to change it from 2ch to 6ch then test your sound.

Also, using PulseAudio Volume Control (pavucontrol) instead of your default Sound Settings might help.

And one other thing to check. Boot to Windows and ensure Fast Startup is turned off, then shut down, don't reboot. Wait 2 minutes then power up into Mint and test the sound.
1. Ran alsamixer -c1 and changed to 6ch. No sound. However, I did learn that alsamixer has a bunch of columns off-screen, thanks.

2. I am confused about what pavucontrol is, how to run it, and whether it is installed, because of not understanding what I have previously read in other threads before I started this one, or the results of trying to run it. Please start from the beginning, I have been using this OS since Thursday morning, and I don't know the terms yet.

3. I erased Windows in a fit of pique. In any event it was W 7. I am at the mercy of Linux Mint 20. I have read in other threads, now, that Windows leaves some residual settings. Ni modo. I am certainly hoping not to have to start again from the beginning... do you think that that is likely? Or, worse, to have to eat crow and re-install Windows? Maybe I can live without sound for another week or so. I am trying not to obsess about it. Please keep giving me things to try.

thanks
jack
jack_cat
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 1:41 pm

Re: no sound in new 20 cinnamon install

Post by jack_cat »

Mr Een: In case it was the URL that you wanted from your first procedure, which was at the end of the five or so lines of coded output, and not the content of the file from that URL (which is what I gave you before), here it is:

https://termbin.com/35ux

thanks
jack
User avatar
MrEen
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11790
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: no sound in new 20 cinnamon install

Post by MrEen »

I used your output that you linked to, so no longer needed the URL, but that's okay. At least I now know the script did run for you properly.

Regarding the 2ch to 6ch change, I had read on another forum that it had fixed a users sound issue where the same options were available.

pavucontrol is Pulseaudio Volume Control, and sometimes just the act of installing an running it fixes sound issues for some. The quick method is to run apt install pavucontrol && pavucontrol in the terminal.

I think we probably won't need drastic measures to get your sound working, and I won't give up trying to help until you do. Every system is unique, and there are so many ways sound can stop working that we just need to keep guessing to find the right fix for you. Some are having issues with the newest version of pulseaudio, and that might be the case here, but until I get a confirmation in another thread about installing a previous version of pulseaudio actually does work, we'll skip that for now.

So, the first thing I'd like you to do is run aplay -D hw:1,0 /usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav in the terminal and tell me if you hear the sound.
User avatar
MrEen
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11790
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: no sound in new 20 cinnamon install

Post by MrEen »

Actually, that aplay command isn't going to work. Your built-in sound card has the Profile set to Off as the only option available. I'm almost certain this is the new pulseaudio version causing this.

Because you're so new, I don't want you to try the method I've proposed elsewhere to roll back pulseaudio. If there's an issue with it, we may cause more harm than good. Just give it some time and I'll eventually get confirmation that it works, then I'll post the command here for you. Should be sometime today I would think.
User avatar
MrEen
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11790
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: no sound in new 20 cinnamon install

Post by MrEen »

And the confirmation has come in. Run this in the terminal then reboot and test your sound:

Code: Select all

apt update && apt install libpulse-mainloop-glib0=1:13.99.1-1ubuntu3.2 libpulse0=1:13.99.1-1ubuntu3.2 libpulsedsp=1:13.99.1-1ubuntu3.2 pulseaudio=1:13.99.1-1ubuntu3.2 pulseaudio-module-bluetooth=1:13.99.1-1ubuntu3.2 pulseaudio-utils=1:13.99.1-1ubuntu3.2
jack_cat
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 1:41 pm

Re: no sound in new 20 cinnamon install

Post by jack_cat »

OK, I have sound after running that command twice - but the first time I ran it, it hung up in a repetitive loop, and I rebooted with the mouse from the Quit command, - the second time it appeared to run correctly, then I rebooted from the terminal, still no sound, and one further step: I opened once again the control panel and the sound window, and I changed the output from "headphones" to "line out", and I now have sound in the headphones. At least, from You Tube. I will shortly test in Audacity. I assume that this is solved "well enough" for now and will put "solved" on the opening post.

Thank you Mr. Een for your help. Hope it sticks!
jack
User avatar
MrEen
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11790
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: [solved - !!] no sound in new 20 cinnamon install

Post by MrEen »

Okay, here's what I think was happening to some extent:

Your version of pulseaudio was messing up your system. When trying to downgrade, the newer version was throwing a fit. I've seen users report they couldn't shut down because of this version.

Your stuggles eventually succeeded, and I would think Line Out is the appropriate port for your computer, as that's the port in the back. Headphones is usually only the port in the front of the computer.

Be aware that the newer version is going to show up again in the Update Manager. You can blacklist it, but I'd suggest just leaving it alone for now. Eventually there should be a newer version replacing it, that hopefully fixes this, and I don't believe you'll see that newer version if you blacklist the one that should be there now.

Also, if you see this in the near future, do you have any snaps installed? You can check in the terminal with snap list. Just a hunch I'm trying to check.
jack_cat
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 1:41 pm

Re: [solved - !!] no sound in new 20 cinnamon install

Post by jack_cat »

MrEen wrote:
Sat Jul 11, 2020 10:52 pm
Also, if you see this in the near future, do you have any snaps installed? You can check in the terminal with snap list. Just a hunch I'm trying to check.
jack_cat@jack-linux-box:~$ snap list
bash: snap: command not found
User avatar
MrEen
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11790
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: [solved - !!] no sound in new 20 cinnamon install

Post by MrEen »

Thanks for that! :D

It blows my theory out of the water. Most of the changes in the newest version of pulseaudio were changes to how it works with snaps, so I thought maybe snap users were the few that have been impacted by the newest version. The only other change in the code was reverting a previous bug fix, so I guess they made some bad choice in that code. So far, I've only seen 10-15 users affected, so it must be specific to something probably hardware related. But what I can see of the hardware, I don't really see similarities.
jack_cat
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 1:41 pm

Re: [solved - !!] no sound in new 20 cinnamon install

Post by jack_cat »

So far so good.
aakeene
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2020 5:08 pm

Re: [solved - !!] no sound in new 20 cinnamon install

Post by aakeene »

I just recently had upgraded from 19.3 to 20 and a downgrade of pulseaudio worked for me too. My system info is below:

Code: Select all

System:
  Host: frost Kernel: 5.4.0-40-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc 
  v: 9.3.0 Desktop: Xfce 4.14.2 Distro: Linux Mint 20 Ulyana 
  base: Ubuntu 20.04 focal 
Machine:
  Type: Desktop System: Micro-Star product: MS-7A37 v: 1.0 
  serial: <superuser/root required> 
  Mobo: MSI model: B350M MORTAR (MS-7A37) v: 1.0 
  serial: <superuser/root required> UEFI: American Megatrends v: 1.K0 
  date: 01/22/2019 
CPU:
  Topology: 8-Core model: AMD Ryzen 7 1700 bits: 64 type: MT MCP arch: Zen 
  rev: 1 L2 cache: 4096 KiB 
  flags: avx avx2 lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm 
  bogomips: 95988 
  Speed: 3199 MHz min/max: 1550/3000 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 3199 2: 3199 
  3: 2914 4: 3165 5: 3200 6: 3200 7: 3198 8: 3198 9: 3191 10: 3191 11: 3188 
  12: 3188 13: 3199 14: 3199 15: 3199 16: 3199 
Graphics:
  Device-1: AMD Vega 10 XL/XT [Radeon RX Vega 56/64] driver: amdgpu 
  v: kernel bus ID: 1e:00.0 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.8 driver: modesetting 
  resolution: 2560x1080~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: N/A v: N/A direct render: N/A 
Audio:
  Device-1: AMD Vega 10 HDMI Audio [Radeon Vega 56/64] driver: snd_hda_intel 
  v: kernel bus ID: 1e:00.1 
  Device-2: AMD Family 17h HD Audio vendor: Micro-Star MSI 
  driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 20:00.3 
  Device-3: Logitech HD Webcam C615 type: USB driver: snd-usb-audio,uvcvideo 
  bus ID: 3-1:2 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.4.0-40-generic 
Network:
  Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet 
  vendor: Micro-Star MSI driver: r8169 v: kernel port: f000 bus ID: 18:00.0 
  IF: enp24s0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: 30:9c:23:0e:99:11 
  IF-ID-1: virbr0 state: down mac: 52:54:00:1e:16:9a 
  IF-ID-2: virbr0-nic state: down mac: 52:54:00:1e:16:9a 
  IF-ID-3: vmnet1 state: unknown speed: N/A duplex: N/A 
  mac: 00:50:56:c0:00:01 
  IF-ID-4: vmnet8 state: unknown speed: N/A duplex: N/A 
  mac: 00:50:56:c0:00:08 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 5.91 TiB used: 2.78 TiB (46.9%) 
  ID-1: /dev/nvme0n1 vendor: Samsung model: SSD 970 EVO Plus 250GB 
  size: 232.89 GiB 
  ID-2: /dev/sda vendor: Samsung model: SSD 840 EVO 250GB size: 232.89 GiB 
  ID-3: /dev/sdb vendor: Western Digital model: WD20EZRX-00D8PB0 
  size: 1.82 TiB 
  ID-4: /dev/sdg vendor: Western Digital model: WD40EZRZ-00GXCB0 
  size: 3.64 TiB 
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 229.07 GiB used: 38.91 GiB (17.0%) fs: ext4 
  dev: /dev/nvme0n1p2 
  ID-2: /home size: 1.76 TiB used: 654.15 GiB (36.2%) fs: ext4 
  dev: /dev/sdb3 
  ID-3: /tmp size: 18.65 GiB used: 44.1 MiB (0.2%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdb2 
  ID-4: /var/log size: 9.26 GiB used: 1023.5 MiB (10.8%) fs: ext4 
  dev: /dev/sdb1 
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 73.5 C mobo: 46.0 C gpu: amdgpu temp: 44 C 
  Fan Speeds (RPM): fan-1: 0 fan-2: 469 fan-3: 1156 fan-4: 1406 fan-5: 0 
  gpu: amdgpu fan: 748 
Info:
  Processes: 447 Uptime: 1d 6h 45m Memory: 62.83 GiB used: 21.12 GiB (33.6%) 
  Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 9.3.0 Shell: bash v: 5.0.16 
  inxi: 3.0.38 
My next task is to figure out why darktable stopped working for me in 19.3, just before the transition, and it's still broken after.
User avatar
Moem
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11416
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [solved - !!] no sound in new 20 cinnamon install

Post by Moem »

aakeene wrote:
Sun Jul 12, 2020 5:15 pm
My next task is to figure out why darktable stopped working for me in 19.3, just before the transition, and it's still broken after.
Sounds like it's time to start your first forum topic! :D
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!
jack_cat
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 1:41 pm

Re: [solved - !!] no sound in new 20 cinnamon install

Post by jack_cat »

There is one remaining wrinkle. I can live with it, it is not a deal-breaker.
Every time I boot up I have to go to the Sound window in the control panel and change the output setting
from Headphones to Line Out, in order to get sound in my Headphones.

Not a big problem...

thanks
jack
User avatar
MrEen
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11790
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: [solved - !!] no sound in new 20 cinnamon install

Post by MrEen »

In the terminal enter xed admin:///etc/pulse/default.pa and when the file opens scroll to the bottom and add this new line:

Code: Select all

set-sink-port alsa_output.pci-0000_00_14.2.analog-stereo analog-output-lineout
Save the file and reboot and you should be all done. :D
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”