Cannot add Google to Firefox search engine

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
rachellee
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2020 6:22 am

Cannot add Google to Firefox search engine

Post by rachellee »

Hi,

I'm new in Linux Mint and just installed Linux Mint 20 on my laptop. When I try to add Google to Firefox search engine by following the steps in www.linuxmint.com/searchengines.php, it does not work. There is no response from the link that I click.

Is there anyone can help me?

Your help is highly appreciated.

Thanks a lot.
User avatar
Schultz
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1958
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 8:57 pm

Re: Cannot add Google to Firefox search engine

Post by Schultz »

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4891
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Cannot add Google to Firefox search engine

Post by AZgl1500 »

that link has been deactivated in the last few days.

I just tried it this morning a few hours ago.

there is also an Extension you can add that will select Google and automatically add it to your List of Search Engines, which is what I did just a few minutes ago.
Search.png

What I have also done is to set up the Preferences to show 4 rows of TOP SITES, and one of those is linked to google.com

turn OFF every thing else, just keep the TOP SITES.
If you don't EDIT any of those tabs, they will populate with your most often used links.

I prefer to EDIT them and make them stay put, so that I see the same exact pattern every time, I add New tabs with the + symbol at the top of the page, or use control-T to open New tab page.


Image
Linux Mint 19.3 Cinnamon
David1293
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 241
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 6:22 pm

Re: Cannot add Google to Firefox search engine

Post by David1293 »

Hi

It's really not too difficult. Go to edit- preferences- search. Then choose.
It may give you the choice of "find more search engines".

Using Google is fine for results, but it does take away your privacy. Duck Duck Go doesn't record your searches.

Hope this helps.
Regards

David
User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4891
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Cannot add Google to Firefox search engine

Post by AZgl1500 »

My Tabs page gives me the option of setting up StartPage as my Default search engine.

if I don't find what I want, I hit New Tab and click on google
Linux Mint 19.3 Cinnamon
User avatar
Schultz
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1958
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 8:57 pm

Re: Cannot add Google to Firefox search engine

Post by Schultz »

AZgl1500 wrote:
Fri Jul 10, 2020 7:21 am
that link has been deactivated in the last few days.
My link, or the OP's link? The link in my post works.
User avatar
Kadaitcha Man
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2612
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:17 pm

Re: Cannot add Google to Firefox search engine

Post by Kadaitcha Man »

Schultz wrote:
Fri Jul 10, 2020 10:43 am
My link, or the OP's link?
Neither. Try this one.
It's pronounced kad-eye-cha, not kada-itcha.
sueede
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 5:31 am

Re: Cannot add Google to Firefox search engine

Post by sueede »

Look around here. Different solutions in this thread.

viewtopic.php?p=1840120#p1840120
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”