Get out of a freeze

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
claude_edmonton
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun May 20, 2018 3:37 pm

Get out of a freeze

Post by claude_edmonton »

OK this is the newbie section. I'm not necessarily a newbie as I've been using Linux Mint and Ubuntu for several years, but sometimes still feel like a newbie, as I've never mastered the terminal or some more advanced functions.

I never understood why there wasn't a crtl+alt+del function that would bring up a GUI task manager or restart the PC if pressed multiple times.

Before, I could restart by doing ctrl+alt+printscreen+REISUB, but now it's not working anymore...

Every tutorial I read to how to get out of a freeze always says to go to terminal, but PC can't do that, it's unresponsive, or press ctrl+alt+f1, but it never works for me, I'm stuck pressing on the power button to force restart.

What are the easiest ways to get out a freeze when pretty much everything is unresponsive?
carum carvi
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1472
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 11:44 pm

Re: Get out of a freeze

Post by carum carvi »

Cut the power and restart the computer is the easiest way.

The fact that REISUB does not work anymore, might point to something more serious going awry inside your computing machine.

What are your specs?

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
Hoser Rob
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7043
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:57 am

Re: Get out of a freeze

Post by Hoser Rob »

If REISUB isn;t working try REISUO
claude_edmonton
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun May 20, 2018 3:37 pm

Re: Get out of a freeze

Post by claude_edmonton »

carum carvi wrote:
Sun Aug 02, 2020 8:35 am
Cut the power and restart the computer is the easiest way.

The fact that REISUB does not work anymore, might point to something more serious going awry inside your computing machine.

What are your specs?

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
System:
Kernel: 5.4.0-42-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 9.3.0
Desktop: Cinnamon 4.6.6 Distro: Linux Mint 20 Ulyana
base: Ubuntu 20.04 focal
Machine:
Type: Laptop System: Hewlett-Packard product: HP EliteBook Folio 1040 G2
v: A3009DD18303 serial: <filter>
Mobo: Hewlett-Packard model: 2270 v: KBC Version 81.2B serial: <filter>
BIOS: Hewlett-Packard v: M76 Ver. 01.16 date: 04/18/2019
Battery:
ID-1: BAT0 charge: 36.8 Wh condition: 38.5/38.5 Wh (100%)
model: Hewlett-Packard Primary status: Unknown
Device-1: hidpp_battery_0 model: Logitech Wireless Mouse M510
charge: 55% (should be ignored) status: Discharging
CPU:
Topology: Dual Core model: Intel Core i5-5300U bits: 64 type: MT MCP
arch: Broadwell rev: 4 L2 cache: 3072 KiB
flags: avx avx2 lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx
bogomips: 18358
Speed: 867 MHz min/max: 500/2900 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 798 2: 798
3: 798 4: 798
Graphics:
Device-1: Intel HD Graphics 5500 vendor: Hewlett-Packard driver: i915
v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0
Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.8 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa
resolution: 1600x900~60Hz, 1920x1080~60Hz
OpenGL: renderer: Mesa Intel HD Graphics 5500 (BDW GT2) v: 4.6 Mesa 20.0.8
direct render: Yes
Audio:
Device-1: Intel Broadwell-U Audio vendor: Hewlett-Packard
driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:03.0
Device-2: Intel Wildcat Point-LP High Definition Audio
vendor: Hewlett-Packard driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:1b.0
Device-3: RODE Microphones type: USB
driver: hid-generic,snd-usb-audio,usbhid bus ID: 2-2.4:4
Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.4.0-42-generic
Network:
Device-1: Intel Ethernet I218-LM driver: e1000e v: 3.2.6-k port: 5080
bus ID: 00:19.0
IF: enp0s25 state: down mac: <filter>
Device-2: Intel Wireless 7265 driver: iwlwifi v: kernel port: ef80
bus ID: 03:00.0
IF: wlo1 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives:
Local Storage: total: 1.14 TiB used: 1.00 TiB (88.0%)
ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Kingfast model: N/A size: 238.47 GiB
ID-2: /dev/sdb type: USB vendor: Seagate model: Portable size: 931.51 GiB
Partition:
ID-1: / size: 232.08 GiB used: 164.30 GiB (70.8%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/dm-1
ID-2: /boot size: 703.5 MiB used: 304.1 MiB (43.2%) fs: ext4
dev: /dev/sda1
ID-3: swap-1 size: 980.0 MiB used: 46.7 MiB (4.8%) fs: swap dev: /dev/dm-2
Sensors:
System Temperatures: cpu: 44.0 C mobo: 0.0 C
Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A
Info:
Processes: 243 Uptime: 18h 34m Memory: 7.65 GiB used: 3.83 GiB (50.0%)
Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 9.3.0 Shell: bash v: 5.0.17
inxi: 3.0.38
User avatar
Moem
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 12542
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Get out of a freeze

Post by Moem »

carum carvi wrote:
Sun Aug 02, 2020 8:35 am
Cut the power and restart the computer is the easiest way.
It is. But not the safest. Damage to the file system may occur.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!
User avatar
BG405
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2407
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 3:09 pm
Location: England

Re: Get out of a freeze

Post by BG405 »

Moem wrote:
Sun Aug 02, 2020 11:47 am
Damage to the file system may occur.
... And often does.

I assume Terminal will open when the system is running normally? I see you're using about half your RAM; maybe it's filling up & causing swappage.

Might be an idea to leave a Terminal window open with e.g. watch -n5 free running in it. Restart your browser before it fills much above 7GB: this should release RAM.

YouTube is the worst culprit for hogging memory, it seems.

I often use htop for monitoring (and occasionally killing) processes. Not sure if that's pre-installed in Mint these days but it should be in the repos if not.
Dell Inspiron 1525 - LM17.3 CE 64-------------------Lenovo T440 8GB - Manjaro KDE with Mint VMs
Toshiba NB250 - Manjaro KDE------------------------K7S5A AMD 1.2GHz - LM17.3 Xfce 32 & WinXP-Pro
Acer Aspire E11 ES1-111M - LM18.2 KDE 64 ----Two ROMS don't make a WRITE ...
User avatar
Flemur
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9166
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Get out of a freeze

Post by Flemur »

claude_edmonton wrote:
Sun Aug 02, 2020 8:08 am
I never understood why there wasn't a crtl+alt+del function that would bring up a GUI task manager or restart the PC if pressed multiple times.
crtl+alt+del "should" log you out; then the display manager GUI (e.g. lightdm) "should" let you log back in or let you reboot/shutdown.

Also ctrl+alt+F1 (or try F2,F3,...) "should" show a console login screen where you "should" be able to reboot.

If (alt+sysreq/printscreen) + REISUB doesn't work, try typing REISUB slower.

Also,
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Magic_SysRq_key
says:
(for Linux Mint, the combination is Ctrl Alt+SysRq ) ???
(is that correct?)
Edit: I just tried it with Mint 20 and you don'tneed the Ctrl...
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?
User avatar
GS3
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1981
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 7:51 am

Re: Get out of a freeze

Post by GS3 »

BG405 wrote:
Sun Aug 02, 2020 12:06 pm
YouTube is the worst culprit for hogging memory, it seems.
I seem to have more of a problem with pages with "infinite scrolling" like MSN.com. Infinite scrolling is the work of the devil.

When my computer freezes, sometimes REISUB works and sometimes not. I try to be patient and wait a bit before doing a hard reset.

Now that I think about it, I was having more freezes when I had only 4 GB RAM and I do not remember having any since I upgraded to 8 GB.
Please do not use animated GIFs in avatars because many of us find them distracting and obnoxious. Thank you.
User avatar
BG405
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2407
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 3:09 pm
Location: England

Re: Get out of a freeze

Post by BG405 »

GS3 wrote:
Sun Aug 02, 2020 1:53 pm
Infinite scrolling is the work of the devil.
I agree totally. Not just hard to navigate with that ever--moving-and-shrinking scrollbar handle but one can not pre-load pages for offline viewing, like I do sometimes with this Forum.
GS3 wrote:
Sun Aug 02, 2020 1:53 pm
I try to be patient and wait a bit before doing a hard reset.
This is often the key. Wait for it to finish swapping and it should recover somewhat.
Dell Inspiron 1525 - LM17.3 CE 64-------------------Lenovo T440 8GB - Manjaro KDE with Mint VMs
Toshiba NB250 - Manjaro KDE------------------------K7S5A AMD 1.2GHz - LM17.3 Xfce 32 & WinXP-Pro
Acer Aspire E11 ES1-111M - LM18.2 KDE 64 ----Two ROMS don't make a WRITE ...
claude_edmonton
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun May 20, 2018 3:37 pm

Re: Get out of a freeze

Post by claude_edmonton »

Thank you, I will remember to try to be patient with the REISUB. It's just, when PC freezes, fan will go up at full speed like it will explode and it doesn't seem to stop.

Is there a way to pull up a task manager when everything is frozen and terminal doesn't want to open, like ctrl+alt+del in Windows? Or the only when that happens is really to reboot?
User avatar
BG405
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2407
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 3:09 pm
Location: England

Re: Get out of a freeze

Post by BG405 »

If the fan is running full-pelt it means the CPU is doing some serious number-crunching. Likely swapping or possibly indexing ( but the latter usually just results in excessive disk-chattering without degrading performance too much, on modern systems). If you aren't in a major hurry, wait until it slows down before attempting anything. How long have you been patient enough to leave it for? Mine has been known to take 20 minutes when REALLY bogged-down.

It's frustrating but can save the headaches of a corrupted filesystem & the resultant fsck or even a completely borked system.

As I said, keep an eye on memory usage with the watch command I gave you; if it's getting full you are shortly going to hit the buffers, so to speak, unless you release memory by stopping and reloading those memory-hungry processes.

EDIT - This:
Flemur wrote:
Sun Aug 02, 2020 1:22 pm
[If (alt+sysreq/printscreen) + REISUB doesn't work, try typing REISUB slower.

... wait a few seconds between keypresses.
Dell Inspiron 1525 - LM17.3 CE 64-------------------Lenovo T440 8GB - Manjaro KDE with Mint VMs
Toshiba NB250 - Manjaro KDE------------------------K7S5A AMD 1.2GHz - LM17.3 Xfce 32 & WinXP-Pro
Acer Aspire E11 ES1-111M - LM18.2 KDE 64 ----Two ROMS don't make a WRITE ...
ptrbrn
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2020 4:02 pm

Re: Get out of a freeze

Post by ptrbrn »

I had the same problem w/ installed ubuntu-20.04.1-desktop-amd64.iso & Live on USB drive, both tried on 2 separate PCs & keyboards.
The right Alt key does not work for above & on linuxmint-20.1-xfce-64bit.iso Live.
The left Alt key works in all cases above. Left-Alt+PrtScn+R-E-I-S-U-B
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”