software manager

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
chazb
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 418
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 2:56 am
Location: Oklahoma

software manager

Post by chazb »

LM 18.3 Sylvia, Xfce
So I go to Software Manager and download AutoTrace a bitmap to vector image converter and I can't find it any wear? Anybody got any ideas?
Petermint
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1132
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 3:12 am

Re: software manager

Post by Petermint »

Autotrace is obsolete and not supported, it is not in LM20.
Autotrace is not a GUI program so does not appear in menus. You have to download a GUI front end for Autotrace.
The GUI front ends for Autotrace are obsolete and not supported.

Last update 2002:
https://sourceforge.net/projects/autotr ... rce=navbar
Last edited by Petermint on Thu Sep 17, 2020 7:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
JoeFootball
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2681
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:52 pm
Location: /home/usa/mn/minneapolis/joe

Re: software manager

Post by JoeFootball »

chazb wrote: LM 18.3 Sylvia, Xfce
Are you sure? I don't have LM 18.3 to verify, but I see it in the Ubuntu 16.04 repos ...

https://packages.ubuntu.com/xenial/autotrace

Edit: I just remembered that I have an old laptop that has LM 18.1, and I verified that it is indeed in Software Manager.
User avatar
chazb
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 418
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 2:56 am
Location: Oklahoma

Re: software manager

Post by chazb »

Well guys, sense I am not a Linux guru, downloading back-ends and attaching to GUI front-ends to programs is out of my league. Does any body know of a program that does the same thing as Autotrace? That works in linux?
RIH
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 736
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 3:47 am

Re: software manager

Post by RIH »

User avatar
JoeFootball
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2681
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:52 pm
Location: /home/usa/mn/minneapolis/joe

Re: software manager

Post by JoeFootball »

chazb wrote: Does any body know of a program that does the same thing as Autotrace?
Again, Autotrace should be available in the repos for LM 18.3.
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”