[SOLVED] No Sound

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
DENT20749
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 11:53 pm

[SOLVED] No Sound

Post by DENT20749 »

No sound is coming through! If I go to settings >sound I can play the test sounds no problem but other than that there is no sound from the speakers, either on start up of Linux nor from apps such as Youtube. Thoughts on where to check or what could be the problem?
Last edited by DENT20749 on Mon Oct 19, 2020 3:36 pm, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
MrEen
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 14190
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No Sound

Post by MrEen »

Hi DENT20749,

Play something with sound then run pacmd list-sinks in the terminal. Hopefully the sound is just outputting to the wrong device. That command will show us where it's trying to play to.
DENT20749
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 11:53 pm

Re: No Sound

Post by DENT20749 »

I loaded pulseaudio volume control and was able to get sound working on Google by changing the option under playback settings. However, when I closed it the sound stopped and if I open it now the app does not show!
Here is the output from pacmd:

Code: Select all

doug@dougpc ~ $ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: CA0132 Analog [CA0132 Analog]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 1: CA0132 Digital [CA0132 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 8: HDMI 2 [HDMI 2]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 9: HDMI 3 [HDMI 3]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

Code: Select all

doug@dougpc ~ $ inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: dougpc Kernel: 4.4.0-53-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.2.7 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
           Distro: Linux Mint 18.1 Serena
Machine:   System: Gigabyte product: Z270X-Gaming 7 v: Default string
           Mobo: Gigabyte model: Z270X-Gaming 7 v: x.x
           Bios: American Megatrends v: F3 date: 11/18/2016
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i7-7700K (-HT-MCP-) cache: 8192 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 33599
           clock speeds: max: 4201 MHz 1: 800 MHz 2: 800 MHz 3: 1000 MHz
           4: 1800 MHz 5: 1000 MHz 6: 800 MHz 7: 1000 MHz 8: 800 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA Device 1c03 bus-ID: 01:00.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: nvidia (unloaded: fbdev,vesa,nouveau)
           Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: GeForce GTX 1060 6GB/PCIe/SSE2
           GLX Version: 4.5.0 NVIDIA 384.130 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Intel Device a2f0 driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1f.3
           Card-2 NVIDIA Device 10f1 driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 01:00.1
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.4.0-53-generic
Network:   Card-1: Intel Ethernet Connection (2) I219-V
           driver: e1000e v: 3.2.6-k bus-ID: 00:1f.6
           IF: enp0s31f6 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros AR93xx Wireless Network Adapter
           driver: ath9k bus-ID: 04:00.0
           IF: wlp4s0 state: up mac: <filter>
           Card-3: Qualcomm Atheros Device e0b1 port: d000 bus-ID: 06:00.0
           IF: N/A state: N/A speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: N/A
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 3031.5GB (5.3% used)
           ID-1: /dev/nvme1n1 model: N/A size: 500.1GB
           ID-2: /dev/nvme0n1 model: N/A size: 250.1GB
           ID-3: USB /dev/sda model: STORE_N_GO size: 31.0GB
           ID-4: USB /dev/sdb model: My_Book_1230 size: 3000.6GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 74G used: 15G (21%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/nvme0n1p5
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 1.00GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/nvme0n1p6
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 29.8C mobo: 27.8C gpu: 0.0:38C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 264 Uptime: 28 min Memory: 1675.6/16004.1MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35 

Code: Select all

doug@dougpc ~ $ pacmd list-sinks 
2 sink(s) available.
  * index: 1
	name: <alsa_output.pci-0000_00_1f.3.analog-stereo>
	driver: <module-alsa-card.c>
	flags: HARDWARE HW_MUTE_CTRL HW_VOLUME_CTRL DECIBEL_VOLUME LATENCY DYNAMIC_LATENCY
	state: IDLE
	suspend cause: 
	priority: 9959
	volume: front-left: 53269 /  81% / -5.40 dB,   front-right: 53269 /  81% / -5.40 dB
	        balance 0.00
	base volume: 46396 /  71% / -9.00 dB
	volume steps: 65537
	muted: no
	current latency: 89.59 ms
	max request: 6 KiB
	max rewind: 64 KiB
	monitor source: 1
	sample spec: s16le 2ch 44100Hz
	channel map: front-left,front-right
	             Stereo
	used by: 0
	linked by: 1
	configured latency: 40.00 ms; range is 0.50 .. 371.52 ms
	card: 1 <alsa_card.pci-0000_00_1f.3>
	module: 7
	properties:
		alsa.resolution_bits = "16"
		device.api = "alsa"
		device.class = "sound"
		alsa.class = "generic"
		alsa.subclass = "generic-mix"
		alsa.name = "CA0132 Analog"
		alsa.id = "CA0132 Analog"
		alsa.subdevice = "0"
		alsa.subdevice_name = "subdevice #0"
		alsa.device = "0"
		alsa.card = "0"
		alsa.card_name = "HDA Intel PCH"
		alsa.long_card_name = "HDA Intel PCH at 0xed540000 irq 147"
		alsa.driver_name = "snd_hda_intel"
		device.bus_path = "pci-0000:00:1f.3"
		sysfs.path = "/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1f.3/sound/card0"
		device.bus = "pci"
		device.vendor.id = "8086"
		device.vendor.name = "Intel Corporation"
		device.product.id = "a2f0"
		device.form_factor = "internal"
		device.string = "front:0"
		device.buffering.buffer_size = "65536"
		device.buffering.fragment_size = "32768"
		device.access_mode = "mmap+timer"
		device.profile.name = "analog-stereo"
		device.profile.description = "Analog Stereo"
		device.description = "Built-in Audio Analog Stereo"
		alsa.mixer_name = "Creative CA0132"
		alsa.components = "HDA:11020011,1458a036,00100918"
		module-udev-detect.discovered = "1"
		device.icon_name = "audio-card-pci"
	ports:
		analog-output-lineout: Line Out (priority 9900, latency offset 0 usec, available: no)
			properties:
				
		analog-output-headphones: Headphones (priority 9000, latency offset 0 usec, available: no)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "audio-headphones"
	active port: <analog-output-lineout>
    index: 3
	name: <alsa_output.pci-0000_01_00.1.hdmi-surround-extra1>
	driver: <module-alsa-card.c>
	flags: HARDWARE DECIBEL_VOLUME LATENCY DYNAMIC_LATENCY
	state: IDLE
	suspend cause: 
	priority: 9050
	volume: front-left: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB,   front-right: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB,   rear-left: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB,   rear-right: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB,   front-center: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB,   lfe: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB
	        balance 0.00
	base volume: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB
	volume steps: 65537
	muted: no
	current latency: 36.30 ms
	max request: 20 KiB
	max rewind: 63 KiB
	monitor source: 4
	sample spec: s16le 6ch 44100Hz
	channel map: front-left,front-right,rear-left,rear-right,front-center,lfe
	             Surround 5.1
	used by: 0
	linked by: 1
	configured latency: 40.00 ms; range is 0.50 .. 123.36 ms
	card: 0 <alsa_card.pci-0000_01_00.1>
	module: 6
	properties:
		alsa.resolution_bits = "16"
		device.api = "alsa"
		device.class = "sound"
		alsa.class = "generic"
		alsa.subclass = "generic-mix"
		alsa.name = "HDMI 1"
		alsa.id = "HDMI 1"
		alsa.subdevice = "0"
		alsa.subdevice_name = "subdevice #0"
		alsa.device = "7"
		alsa.card = "1"
		alsa.card_name = "HDA NVidia"
		alsa.long_card_name = "HDA NVidia at 0xed080000 irq 17"
		alsa.driver_name = "snd_hda_intel"
		device.bus_path = "pci-0000:01:00.1"
		sysfs.path = "/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.1/sound/card1"
		device.bus = "pci"
		device.vendor.id = "10de"
		device.vendor.name = "NVIDIA Corporation"
		device.product.id = "10f1"
		device.string = "hdmi:1,1"
		device.buffering.buffer_size = "65280"
		device.buffering.fragment_size = "32640"
		device.access_mode = "mmap+timer"
		device.profile.name = "hdmi-surround-extra1"
		device.profile.description = "Digital Surround 5.1 (HDMI 2)"
		device.description = "HDA NVidia Digital Surround 5.1 (HDMI 2)"
		alsa.mixer_name = "Nvidia Generic HDMI"
		alsa.components = "HDA:10de0084,104385a4,00100100"
		module-udev-detect.discovered = "1"
		device.icon_name = "audio-card-pci"
	ports:
		hdmi-output-1: HDMI / DisplayPort 2 (priority 5800, latency offset 0 usec, available: yes)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "video-display"
				device.product.name = "DX-24E150A11
"
	active port: <hdmi-output-1>
Last edited by MrEen on Fri Oct 16, 2020 4:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added code tags to preserve formatting.
User avatar
MrEen
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 14190
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No Sound

Post by MrEen »

Okay, I'm not yet sure if this is a permissions issue or something else. In the terminal run this:

Code: Select all

pacmd set-default-sink alsa_output.pci-0000_00_1f.3.analog-stereo
Then restart your browser and see if Youtube works properly.
DENT20749
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 11:53 pm

Re: No Sound

Post by DENT20749 »

That appears to have fixed it. Would love to know what changed as I did initial install about 3 years ago and nothing has changed since! Appreciate your help
User avatar
MrEen
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 14190
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No Sound

Post by MrEen »

I'm honestly not certain what caused this. As a guess, your system sees a HDMI option as available for use, so was outputting there. Why it changed could be the built-in card wasn't ready quick enough on a bootup, so it defaulted to what was available.

Again, that's just guessing. But I'm glad the command worked for you. :D
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”