[solved] partition doesn't look good

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Pepper-Mint-Patty
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 577
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2019 4:54 pm
Location: Royston Vasey

[solved] partition doesn't look good

Post by Pepper-Mint-Patty »

When doing a clean install i think i messed up with the partitions. Goal is 1 boot and 1 home. How can i rearrange?
Image
Last edited by Pepper-Mint-Patty on Tue Oct 20, 2020 7:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Language is a virus.
hayden
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 7:59 am
Location: Texas, USA

Re: partition doesn't look good

Post by hayden »

any reason why not let the installer use auto-partition?
User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2763
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: partition doesn't look good

Post by absque fenestris »

Do you work with encryption?

Patty.png
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia (MATE) 32-bit - Acer D250 Netbook
Linux Mint 20 Ulyana (Cinnamon) 64-bit - Huawei MateBook X Pro
User avatar
Moem
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 12350
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: partition doesn't look good

Post by Moem »

That key symbol means 'currently mounted' as far as I know.
Pepper-Mint-Patty wrote:
Mon Oct 19, 2020 2:34 pm
Goal is 1 boot and 1 home.
What about root? That seems important, too...
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!
User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2763
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: partition doesn't look good

Post by absque fenestris »

Moem wrote:
Mon Oct 19, 2020 2:59 pm
That key symbol means 'currently mounted' as far as I know.
Pepper-Mint-Patty wrote:
Mon Oct 19, 2020 2:34 pm
Goal is 1 boot and 1 home.
What about root? That seems important, too...
Ähmm... No!
My small, super-secure and encrypted Acer D250 has a similar Light Blue frame in GParted - but not my normal Linux ...

GParted.png
... and then the key symbols?
Last edited by absque fenestris on Mon Oct 19, 2020 3:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia (MATE) 32-bit - Acer D250 Netbook
Linux Mint 20 Ulyana (Cinnamon) 64-bit - Huawei MateBook X Pro
User avatar
AndyMH
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5487
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: partition doesn't look good

Post by AndyMH »

Nothing particularly wrong with that, except that /home is in a logical partition inside the extended partition. With a legacy format drive you can have a max of four primary partitions or three primary and one extended partition, so you could have put both / and /home in primary partitions.

The key symbol means the partition is mounted, and in the case of / and /home booting from your main OS you can't unmount them.
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0, 3 x Thinkpad T430 Cinnamon 19.0, i7-3632 , i5-3320, i5-3210, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate
User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2763
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: partition doesn't look good

Post by absque fenestris »

... and then the key symbols?

:?:

I really only saw them on encrypted partitions - just like the frame on the frame.
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia (MATE) 32-bit - Acer D250 Netbook
Linux Mint 20 Ulyana (Cinnamon) 64-bit - Huawei MateBook X Pro
User avatar
Moem
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 12350
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: partition doesn't look good

Post by Moem »

absque fenestris wrote:
Mon Oct 19, 2020 3:17 pm
Moem wrote:
Mon Oct 19, 2020 2:59 pm
That key symbol means 'currently mounted' as far as I know.
Pepper-Mint-Patty wrote:
Mon Oct 19, 2020 2:34 pm
Goal is 1 boot and 1 home.
What about root? That seems important, too...
Ähmm... No!
No to what?
absque fenestris wrote:
Mon Oct 19, 2020 3:17 pm
My small, super-secure and encrypted Acer D250 has a similar Light Blue frame in GParted - but not my normal Linux ...

... and then the key symbols?
As Andy explained, the light blue frame means that a logical partition exists inside the extended partition. A frame within a frame. And one is light blue so you can distinguish one from the other.

What are you asking about the key symbols? I already explained what they mean.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!
Pepper-Mint-Patty
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 577
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2019 4:54 pm
Location: Royston Vasey

Re: partition doesn't look good

Post by Pepper-Mint-Patty »

AndyMH wrote:
Mon Oct 19, 2020 3:21 pm
except that /home is in a logical partition inside the extended partition.
Thats exactly what i meant. Is it possible to change that in a primary partition? So only sda1 and sda2 exist?
I now see sd5 has got 11gb used. I didn't put more then 1mb of data on that!
So the idea of deleting the sda5 + sda2 partition by liveboot and make a new primary partition with mount point /home is/not possible?!
Language is a virus.
HaveaMint
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 802
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 9:56 pm
Location: Somewhere in the USA
Contact:

Re: partition doesn't look good

Post by HaveaMint »

Pepper-Mint-Patty wrote:
Mon Oct 19, 2020 4:15 pm
AndyMH wrote:
Mon Oct 19, 2020 3:21 pm
except that /home is in a logical partition inside the extended partition.
Thats exactly what i meant. Is it possible to change that in a primary partition? So only sda1 and sda2 exist?
I now see sd5 has got 11gb used. I didn't put more then 1mb of data on that!
So the idea of deleting the sda5 + sda2 partition by liveboot and make a new primary partition with mount point /home is/not possible?!
I'm doing what you are asking about now on one of my drives. Msdos table with multiple primary partitions. You cannot make more than four.
Screenshot_2020-10-19_15-53-59.png
"Tune for maximum Smoke and then read the Instructions".
Pepper-Mint-Patty
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 577
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2019 4:54 pm
Location: Royston Vasey

Re: partition doesn't look good

Post by Pepper-Mint-Patty »

@HaveaMint, i miss your point.
Language is a virus.
HaveaMint
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 802
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 9:56 pm
Location: Somewhere in the USA
Contact:

Re: partition doesn't look good

Post by HaveaMint »

Basically what I said is the same as Andy said up above.
Nothing particularly wrong with that, except that /home is in a logical partition inside the extended partition. With a legacy format drive you can have a max of four primary partitions or three primary and one extended partition, so you could have put both / and /home in primary partitions.
Last edited by Moem on Tue Oct 20, 2020 1:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Swapped the code tags out for quote tags. Code tags are for code, not for quotes.
"Tune for maximum Smoke and then read the Instructions".
User avatar
JerryF
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4939
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: partition doesn't look good

Post by JerryF »

Pepper-Mint-Patty wrote:
Mon Oct 19, 2020 2:34 pm
When doing a clean install i think i messed up with the partitions. Goal is 1 boot and 1 home. How can i rearrange?
Image
At the very least, for an installation you need a / (root) partition which can have a boot and home folder.

You can have a separate /home partition to keep your data separate from the system. That's a matter of preference.

You can also have a separate /boot partition if you need one, but I wouldn't recommend it so that you won't run into the problem of running out of space.
*** IF your problem has been solved, please edit your ORIGINAL post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members when browsing posts. ***
Pepper-Mint-Patty
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 577
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2019 4:54 pm
Location: Royston Vasey

Re: partition doesn't look good

Post by Pepper-Mint-Patty »

Question left is how to place /home now in a primary partition? So only sda1 and sda2 will exist as 2 primarys
Language is a virus.
User avatar
JerryF
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4939
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: partition doesn't look good

Post by JerryF »

Pepper-Mint-Patty wrote:
Tue Oct 20, 2020 4:31 am
Question left is how to place /home now in a primary partition? So only sda1 and sda2 will exist as 2 primarys
Using a live DVD/USB. Copy all the contents of sda5 (including hidden files) to another disk or USB drive.
Delete sda5 then sda2
Create a new, primary partition
Copy back the contents to the new partition.
Using

Code: Select all

blkid
find the UUID of the new, primary partition
Edit the file /etc/fstab entry for the /home entry and change the UUID to the new partition's UUID.
*** IF your problem has been solved, please edit your ORIGINAL post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members when browsing posts. ***
Pepper-Mint-Patty
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 577
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2019 4:54 pm
Location: Royston Vasey

Re: partition doesn't look good

Post by Pepper-Mint-Patty »

thnx JerryF
Language is a virus.
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”