is it possible to upgrade to cassandra from bea

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
xxchrisxx555
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 7:23 pm

is it possible to upgrade to cassandra from bea

Postby xxchrisxx555 » Wed Jun 20, 2007 6:01 pm

if i update in the update manager will it give me the new features in cassandra

User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2363
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby Boo » Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:43 pm

you would have to update the apt sources manually as well, it is not just a one button click upgrade.

see:
http://www.linuxmint.com/wiki/index.php ... _Cassandra

this shows you the general complexity of the upgrade.

a fresh install is always best.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19594
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Thu Jun 21, 2007 7:15 am

I think it is not possible to upgrade from Bea to Cassandra, I'm convinced I've read something from Clem to that effect
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

xxchrisxx555
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 7:23 pm

Postby xxchrisxx555 » Fri Jun 22, 2007 6:17 pm

i have tried to install cassandra from the disk but it never boots the live cd

the same happens in 7.04 ubuntu

User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2363
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby Boo » Sat Jun 23, 2007 7:34 am

where did it stop?

what are your system specs?

have you tried the second safe video option?

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!

User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5661
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Postby clem » Mon Jun 25, 2007 6:43 pm

It's possible but very tedious... you need to upgrade from Bea to Bianca first... and then from Bianca to Cassandra:

http://www.linuxmint.com/wiki/index.php ... _to_Bianca
http://www.linuxmint.com/wiki/index.php ... _Cassandra

My advice:

- backup your data
- do a fresh install of Cassandra and make sure you give /home its own partition so you can do fresh install in the future without loosing your prefs/data.

Clem
Image


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BenTrabetere, Calvadosian, Dude247 and 16 guests