The package xserver-xorg-core needs to be reinstalled

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
Axolotista
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 10:13 am

The package xserver-xorg-core needs to be reinstalled

Post by Axolotista »

Hello community!

I am a total ignorant about Linux, but I am slowly learning. But today I have two problems that are way beyond my reach. Please help! My livelihood depends on it.

Initial problem:
A couple of months ago we had an unexpected electricity outage in my home and my computer was on while the power went and came over and over in a short period of time. The computer restarted automatically and partially several times and since then I cannot update packages or anything through the updated program.

I tried to fix it but I get this:
E:The package xserver-xorg-core needs to be reinstalled, but I can't find an archive for it.

The machine otherwise seems to work well and I was too busy to dive into research like now in order to fix it.

Second problem:
I am trying to install Davinci Resolve 16 basic free version software but once I did, it says I need to update my graphics card.
The program comes with a pdf how to install document and has detailed instructions about updating graphics drivers and such. But I cannot proceed.

My system info from the inxi comand is

Code: Select all

gigabyte@gigabyte-H270M-D3H ~ $ inxi -Fxxxzr
System:    Host: gigabyte-H270M-D3H Kernel: 4.4.0-189-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.6.7 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3) dm: mdm
           Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Machine:   System: Gigabyte product: H270M-D3H v: Default string
           Mobo: Gigabyte model: H270M-D3H-CF v: x.x
           Bios: American Megatrends v: F8d date: 03/09/2018
           Chassis: Default string type: 3 v: Default string
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i5-7500 (-MCP-) cache: 6144 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 27264
           clock speeds: min/max: 800/3800 MHz 1: 893 MHz 2: 1099 MHz
           3: 799 MHz 4: 844 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GP108 [GeForce GT 1030]
           bus-ID: 01:00.0 chip-ID: 10de:1d01
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: nvidia (unloaded: fbdev,vesa,nouveau)
           Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: GeForce GT 1030/PCIe/SSE2
           GLX Version: 4.5.0 NVIDIA 384.130 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Intel 200 Series PCH HD Audio
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1f.3 chip-ID: 8086:a2f0
           Card-2 NVIDIA GP108 High Definition Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 01:00.1 chip-ID: 10de:0fb8
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.4.0-189-generic
Network:   Card-1: Intel Ethernet Connection (2) I219-V
           driver: e1000e v: 3.2.6-k bus-ID: 00:1f.6 chip-ID: 8086:15b8
           IF: enp0s31f6 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros AR9227 Wireless Network Adapter
           driver: ath9k bus-ID: 03:01.0 chip-ID: 168c:002d
           IF: wlp3s1 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 2128.4GB (5.0% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: ST2000DM005 size: 2000.4GB serial: Z9801W37
           ID-2: /dev/sdb model: ADATA_SU800 size: 128.0GB serial: 2H2920067196
Partition: ID-1: / size: 102G used: 84G (87%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdb1
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 17.13GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sdb5
RAID:      System: supported: N/A
           No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
           Unused Devices: none
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 29.8C mobo: 27.8C gpu: 0.0:38C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Repos:     Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/additional-repositories.list
           deb http://packages.domain.com/ xenial main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list
           deb [arch=amd64] http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/ stable main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/graphics-drivers-ppa-xenial.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/graphics-drivers/ppa/ubuntu xenial main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/graphics-drivers/ppa/ubuntu xenial main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list
           deb http://packages.linuxmint.com sylvia main upstream import backport #id:linuxmint_main
           deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu xenial main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu xenial-updates main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu xenial-backports main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ xenial-security main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ xenial partner
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/skype-stable.list
           deb [arch=amd64] https://repo.skype.com/deb stable main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/stebbins-handbrake-releases-xenial.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/stebbins/handbrake-releases/ubuntu xenial main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/stebbins/handbrake-releases/ubuntu xenial main
Info:      Processes: 223 Uptime: 3 min Memory: 1379.5/16007.7MB
           Init: systemd v: 229 runlevel: 5 default: graphical.target
           Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481 running in gnome-terminal-) inxi: 2.2.35 
gigabyte@gigabyte-H270M-D3H ~ $ [/b]  

I think I have to fix the first problem to then get to the second one. Or what do you guys think? Please help!

Thanks in advance
Last edited by Axolotista on Thu Jan 14, 2021 12:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
zcot
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1396
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 6:08 pm

Re: The package xserver-xorg-core needs to be reinstalled

Post by zcot »

to reinstall a package you can use the command: apt reinstall <exact-package-name-here>
User avatar
Axolotista
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 10:13 am

Re: The package xserver-xorg-core needs to be reinstalled

Post by Axolotista »

Hi!
Thank for replying. :)

I tried and got

Code: Select all

gigabyte@gigabyte-H270M-D3H ~ $ apt reinstall <xserver-xorg-core>
bash: error sintáctico cerca del elemento inesperado `newline'
gigabyte@gigabyte-H270M-D3H ~ $ 
A syntactic error :oops:
User avatar
JOPETA
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7419
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 6:10 am
Location: En un lugar de cuyo nombre no quiero acordarme

Re: The package xserver-xorg-core needs to be reinstalled

Post by JOPETA »

Just apt reinstall xserver-xorg-core, w/o <>. :wink:
Ni cola de león ni cabeza de ratón, prefiero ser diente de ajo.(Javier Krahe)
User avatar
kukamuumuka
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6752
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:51 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: The package xserver-xorg-core needs to be reinstalled

Post by kukamuumuka »

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get --reinstall install xserver-xorg-core
User avatar
Axolotista
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 10:13 am

Re: The package xserver-xorg-core needs to be reinstalled

Post by Axolotista »

Thanks for replying and for the syntactic patience! :)

However, once I set the command into the terminal, the message I get is the same as at first: that the file xserver-xorg-core is missing and cannot be reinstalled.

Code: Select all

 Leyendo lista de paquetes... Hecho
Creando árbol de dependencias       
Leyendo la información de estado... Hecho
E: El paquete xserver-xorg-core necesita ser reinstalado, pero no se encuentra el archivo para ello.
Translation:
Reading list of packages ... done.
Creating dependence tree
Reading state info... Done.
E: The xserver-xorg-core package needs to be reinstalled, but the file could not be found.

Any idea about how and from where I can find this file?

And, since last night, I lost audio completely and the updater admin program no longer shows me any of the 20+ updates it used to show me. I think this is getting worse quickly.
User avatar
kukamuumuka
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6752
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:51 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: The package xserver-xorg-core needs to be reinstalled

Post by kukamuumuka »

What is the result for the next command?

Code: Select all

apt-cache policy xserver-xorg-core
User avatar
Axolotista
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 10:13 am

Re: The package xserver-xorg-core needs to be reinstalled

Post by Axolotista »

This:

Code: Select all

gigabyte@gigabyte-H270M-D3H ~ $ apt-cache policy xserver-xorg-core
xserver-xorg-core:
  Instalados: 2:1.18.4-0ubuntu0.7
  Candidato:  2:1.18.4-0ubuntu0.7
  Tabla de versión:
 *** 2:1.18.4-0ubuntu0.7 100
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
Translation:
Instaled: 2:1.18.4-0ubuntu0.7
Candidate: 2:1.18.4-0ubuntu0.7

Version Table
*** 2:1.18.4-0ubuntu0.7 100
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status

What just happened?
User avatar
kukamuumuka
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6752
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:51 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: The package xserver-xorg-core needs to be reinstalled

Post by kukamuumuka »

Run

Code: Select all

sudo dpkg --configure -a
sudo apt-get -f install
User avatar
Axolotista
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 10:13 am

Re: The package xserver-xorg-core needs to be reinstalled

Post by Axolotista »

Ok, it just asked for my password and that was it.
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”