trying to get into mining crypto

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
xanvee

trying to get into mining crypto

Post by xanvee »

Hello everyone,

Newb here. I tried searching the topics to see if my question came up and it doesn't appear so. Please bare with me I am new to linux.

I am trying to learn how to mine crypto and using various instructional sources I seem to not get anywhere. From what I understand CGminer is the best software but I am not sure. At the moment I just want to be able to get my head wrapped around it but first I need the software in order to play around with it.

Can someone help me out?

Thank you all in advance.
GS3
Level 8
Level 8

Re: trying to get into mining crypto

Post by GS3 »

It can be downloaded from https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer

What's your question?
Please do not use animated GIFs in avatars because many of us find them distracting and obnoxious. Thank you.
iironjade
Level 4
Level 4

Post by iironjade »

Want to buy a bridge?
"A good many dramatic situations begin with screaming."
Petermint
Level 9
Level 9

Post by Petermint »

A huge percentage of the work is performed by your GPU. The pro miners use custom GPU style processors. They use solar arrays for the free electricity. They process in cold regions so they do not need aircon. Given the heat output, I am not surprised the Antarctic ice shelf is melting.