<SOLVED> Login screen not appearing. Can't run fsck in recovery mode.

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Miss_Fab01
Level 1
Level 1

<SOLVED> Login screen not appearing. Can't run fsck in recovery mode.

Post by Miss_Fab01 »

I'm very new to Linux.

I recently had a problem where I incorrectly changed the ownership of the home directory :oops:. This problem has been resolved thanks to help from this forum.

However, after the problem was resolved I tried to use Timeshift and after going through its normal process it became stuck on a blank screen for a long time and I was forced to manually shut down the computer.

Now when I turn the computer on the GRUB boot menu doesn't show (the computer is dual boot with Windows) and it is just stuck on a blank black screen again.

I've tried to fix the problem by booting from CD/DVD and following this tutorial viewtopic.php?t=162096 however, after I enter

Code: Select all

sudo grub-install --root-directory=/mnt/ /dev/sda
I get "this GPT partition label contains no BIOS Boot Partition; embedding won't be possible".

I've tried this process with each of the Linux partitions but to no avail. I'm not sure what to try next.

EDIT: I did a live boot and used Timeshift and this has solved the problem of the GRUB boot menu not appearing. However, the normal login screen after this does not appear.

Also, when I try to run a fsck in recovery mode I get:

fsck from util-linux 2.31.1
/dev/sda5 is mounted.
e2fsck: cannot continue, aborting