[Solved] Suspending even though it's disabled under power manager

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Locked
kekie
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2021 5:33 pm

[Solved] Suspending even though it's disabled under power manager

Post by kekie »

Like the title says : under "Xfce power manager" everything is set to "Never" yet the machine suspends (The screen goes black, the power button LED blinks instead of being on solidly, and I have to press the power button once to wake it up). It does this even when I am actively using it (moving the mouse, typing, etc), which is really annoying.

Linux mint XFCE (with some other window managers installed & sometimes running as they are used by some remote desktop software).

Image

Output of

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
(For some reason it thinks I'm on a laptop? This is a desktop machine.)

Code: Select all

System:
  Kernel: 5.4.0-73-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 9.3.0 
  Desktop: Gnome 3.36.7 Distro: Linux Mint 20.1 Ulyssa 
  base: Ubuntu 20.04 focal 
Machine:
  Type: Laptop Mobo: MSI model: X370 GAMING PRO (MS-7A33) v: 2.0 
  serial: <filter> UEFI: American Megatrends v: 4.00 date: 03/20/2017 
CPU:
  Topology: 6-Core model: AMD Ryzen 5 1600X bits: 64 type: MT MCP arch: Zen 
  rev: 1 L2 cache: 3072 KiB 
  flags: avx avx2 lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm 
  bogomips: 86232 
  Speed: 2222 MHz min/max: 2200/3600 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 2222 2: 2233 
  3: 2112 4: 2341 5: 1935 6: 1921 7: 1958 8: 2024 9: 2485 10: 2083 11: 1941 
  12: 1953 
Graphics:
  Device-1: NVIDIA GP104 [GeForce GTX 1080] vendor: eVga.com. driver: nvidia 
  v: 460.73.01 bus ID: 23:00.0 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.9 driver: nvidia 
  unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,nouveau,vesa resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: N/A v: N/A direct render: N/A 
Audio:
  Device-1: NVIDIA GP104 High Definition Audio vendor: eVga.com. 
  driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 23:00.1 
  Device-2: AMD Family 17h HD Audio vendor: Micro-Star MSI 
  driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 25:00.3 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.4.0-73-generic 
Network:
  Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet 
  vendor: Micro-Star MSI driver: r8169 v: kernel port: f000 bus ID: 1e:00.0 
  IF: enp30s0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter> 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 8.19 TiB used: 850.29 GiB (10.1%) 
  ID-1: /dev/sda type: USB vendor: Seagate model: Portable size: 1.82 TiB 
  ID-2: /dev/sdb vendor: Western Digital model: WD10EZEX-08M2NA0 
  size: 931.51 GiB 
  ID-3: /dev/sdc vendor: Seagate model: ST6000DM003-2CY186 size: 5.46 TiB 
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 5.41 TiB used: 328.22 GiB (5.9%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdc2 
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 27.5 C mobo: N/A gpu: nvidia temp: 45 C 
  Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A gpu: nvidia fan: 0% 
Info:
  Processes: 374 Uptime: 4d 22h 32m Memory: 15.65 GiB used: 6.81 GiB (43.5%) 
  Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 9.3.0 Shell: bash v: 5.0.17 
  inxi: 3.0.38 
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Buzzsaw
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1318
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 12:53 pm

Re: Suspending even though it's disabled under power manager

Post by Buzzsaw »

Try:

sudo systemctl mask suspend.target sleep.target hibernate.target hybrid-sleep.target && sudo systemctl restart systemd-logind.service
User avatar
SMG
Level 25
Level 25
Posts: 31776
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Suspending even though it's disabled under power manager

Post by SMG »

kekie wrote: Thu Jun 03, 2021 5:40 pmLinux mint XFCE (with some other window managers installed & sometimes running as they are used by some remote desktop software).
Welcome to the forum, kekie.

There are only three supported desktops in Linux Mint, Xfce, MATE, and Cinnamon. If you are running something else (which appears to be the case) then there may be interference which is causing a problem.

The system information you posted is not what we would expect to see with a Mint Xfce install. Gnome is not a supported desktop.

System:
Kernel: 5.4.0-73-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 9.3.0
Desktop: Gnome 3.36.7 Distro: Linux Mint 20.1 Ulyssa
base: Ubuntu 20.04 focal
kekie wrote: Thu Jun 03, 2021 5:40 pm(For some reason it thinks I'm on a laptop? This is a desktop machine.)
That is a bit unusual, but maybe some of the other software you installed is a factor in how inxi reads your computer's information. Are you running the latest UEFI available for your desktop?

Code: Select all

Machine:
  Type: Laptop Mobo: MSI model: X370 GAMING PRO (MS-7A33) v: 2.0 
  serial: <filter> UEFI: American Megatrends v: 4.00 date: 03/20/2017 
If you are running remote software to access the machine and generate this information, that may be why there is no renderer available. The lack of a renderer can also cause issues during suspension and resume from suspension.

Graphics:
Device-1: NVIDIA GP104 [GeForce GTX 1080] vendor: eVga.com. driver: nvidia
v: 460.73.01 bus ID: 23:00.0
Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.9 driver: nvidia
unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,nouveau,vesa resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz
OpenGL: renderer: N/A v: N/A direct render: N/A
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
kekie
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2021 5:33 pm

Re: Suspending even though it's disabled under power manager

Post by kekie »

I figured it out. MG was correct in pointing out that gnome could be causing the problem. It looks like the separate window managers had separate power settings. Disabling suspend in both XFCE & Gnome fixed the issue.
Thank you!
Locked

Return to “Beginner Questions”