I'm a newbie!

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
jim2kmol
Level 1
Level 1

I'm a newbie!

Post by jim2kmol »

Hi! I'm a newbie in the world of Linux. I am wondering if what distro is the most compatible with my old laptop? The specs are:
Processor: AMD A8 7410
RAM: 8GB
HDD: 1TB

Hope you can help me! Thanks!
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
manyroads
Level 5
Level 5

Re: I'm a newbie!

Post by manyroads »

Use the distro you like best.
Pax vobiscum,
...mark
SwayWM, i3wm, bspwm, hlwm, dwm
Professional Genealogist & Technologist
(http://eirenicon.org & http://many-roads.com)
Hoser Rob
Level 20
Level 20

Post by Hoser Rob »

It's not that old. If you're a newbie you should use a beginner friendly distro, which isn't universal. Mint and Ubuntu are the ones I'd recommend to newbies. ALways look at the support forum for a distro first, many smaller distros have terrible ones and you'll need it. Though the MX forums look pretty good.
For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong - H. L. Mencken
jim2kmol
Level 1
Level 1

Post by jim2kmol »

Hey thanks for the help! I'm actually thinking about installing Mint or Linux Lite. BTW, with those specs, if I chose Mint, installing and using Cinnamon will be ok, right? I mean, it will run alright with no major problems? Thanks!
Moem
Level 22
Level 22

Post by Moem »