How do I write to CD or DVD?

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
stevegreig
Level 1
Level 1

How do I write to CD or DVD?

Post by stevegreig »

I have posted this in the beginners section even though I have been using Linux Mint for many years. I have written to discs before both for my data such as documents and photos etc and also for the Linux Mint (and some other distros) OS which I have then successfully installed onto various computers. Having said that I have never understood what I am doing and I can not do any of these things reliably. I simply have never understood what the word burn means and what K3b is all about and what an ISO is.

I have just tried to back up some files in various directories on my Linux Mint computer to a CD and to a DVD. The approach I took was to open two Nemo windows. In one of the windows I opened up the CD or DVD and in the other one I navigated around my computer and transferred directories for backing up to the window opened for the CD. When I had transferred all the directories I wanted to back up I clicked the Blank DVD item under devices in the Nemo window and there was quite a long period of time with a box showing the copying process. Once that was completed I removed the disc. When I put the disc into another computer running Linux Mint there is nothing on it.