How to dualboot win 10

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Tsla
Level 3
Level 3

How to dualboot win 10

Post by Tsla »

hey guys, how do i install win 10 along with my mint 19? without deleting everything? I'm not good at partitioning things
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Rocky Bennett
Level 5
Level 5

Re: How to dualboot win 10

Post by Rocky Bennett »

Reddog1
Level 7
Level 7

Post by Reddog1 »

Petermint
Level 9
Level 9

Post by Petermint »

It is relatively easy to install Linux next to Windows. When you install Windows next to Linux, Windows will treat Linux as a variant of Covid and attempt eradication. Installing an OS in a virtual machine is a pain but it might be easier than installing Windows along side Linux.

If you have fantastic backups, you could let Windows trample all over your machine then follow the instructions for installing Linux along side of Windows then restore your Linux system from Timeshift and your user files form Backintime.
AndyMH
Level 21
Level 21

Post by AndyMH »

It may or may not trash your linux partitions, in legacy boot it will overwrite the linux bootloader (grub), in UEFI boot it will put itself top of the boot list and the 'ubuntu' entry may still be there and work. That is why it is always recommended to install windows first.