Viewing files on second drive

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
dTardis
Level 1
Level 1

Viewing files on second drive

Post by dTardis »

So I’m new to Linux in general. I apologize if this is a dumb question.
I have a NUC with 2 hard drives. The boot drive is 500GB and the second is 1TB.
I’m trying to use a Docker based app for document management. It is working just fine.

My problem is how I can view these files in the file system.

If I open up files on the desktop. I can see the 1TB drive. I open it and I see the file structure. But as I drill down there are no files. I know the files exist though. If I go a different route. Say I go through the file structure. I go /media/<user>/<drive name>/<folder structure> the files show up just fine. But if I go /mnt/<some stuff>/<file structure > the files don’t show up. I’m just not sure why this is. I seem to be going to the same place just in different ways, but depending on how I get there will affect whether I can see the files.

Am I don’t something wrong here?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
gittiest personITW
Level 12
Level 12

Re: Viewing files on second drive

Post by gittiest personITW »

Welcome to the forums.

Are you asking why you can't access the files if you look in a folder where the files are not mounted?