Login loop__ "/dev/mapper/vgmint-root" Use% 100% full

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
thinkpad3469
Level 1
Level 1

Login loop__ "/dev/mapper/vgmint-root" Use% 100% full

Post by thinkpad3469 »

Hi,

I apologize in advance if I missed a thread somewhere in my search on this forum.

I have a Lenovo Thinkpad T410 (120GB SSD; LM 20, I think, with an encrypted hard drive) that has a login loop, typing on another main computer. I'm new to Linux, and can only do basic getting around stuff.

I remember the problem being like this one: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=354020&hilit=login+loop , where there is low disk space, and being asked to examine, empty trash, or ignore.

I believe the problem is related to having timeshift take snapshots of system files and/or updating using the software manager. This happened months ago and I was able to login somehow, by maybe using cleaning commands or other commands from various websites, and I thought I changed settings in timeshift to avoid this problem again. But then I think I tried to update the software via software manager.

I found this thread: "viewtopic.php?f=90&t=341769&hilit=login+loop", which linked to this page: "viewtopic.php?p=1769597#p1769597", where I followed the instructions and entered [df -h | egrep "^/dev/|Filesystem"] ,
and the result was: (/dev/mapper/vgmint-root 108G 103G 0 100% /) (Size, used, avail, use%, mounted on). So, I think the "xauthority" is not the issue.