Buffer I/0 error on dev sda1, logical block 131062, async page read [ SOLVED ]

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
BananaFish
Level 1
Level 1

Buffer I/0 error on dev sda1, logical block 131062, async page read [ SOLVED ]

Post by BananaFish »

Heya!
I am new to Linux and since a friend of mine helped me install Mint everything has been working fine and well but as at this morning, I wasn't able to log in to my computer, it says Buffer I/0 error on Feb sda1, logical block 131062, async page read.
Please I have no idea what this means as I only started using Linux earlier this week.
Can anyone help?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Level 6
Level 6

Re: Buffer I/0 error on dev sda1, logical block 131062, async page read

Post by 1000 »

https://duckduckgo.com/?q=Linux+solved+ ... =lm&ia=web

I do not know too
I/0 error --> something was written and read something completely different (should be the same)
sda1, logical block 131062 --> The error is related to the hard disk. ( sda )

Edit

You can check what it is sda with
GParted app or with gnome-disks app
and with commands in terminal

Code: Select all

blkid

lsblk

sudo fdisk -l
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Logical_block_addressing.

Personally, I cannot tell if the error is caused by a hard disk error.
1. You can check RAM

Example memtest with Linux Mint
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7FFW8k7o-Ok