Unwanted Software Updates

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Cochise54+
Level 1
Level 1

Unwanted Software Updates

Post by Cochise54+ »

I'm a newbie to Linux and can't code.
My questions = I keep getting updates for software not installed on my PC/system. 1) Why am I getting them? 2) Since I've got 17 of them 'clogging' my update manager now, how do I get rid of them? 3) How can I stop getting them?
Thank you in advance.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
karlchen
Level 23
Level 23

Re: Unwanted Software Updates

Post by karlchen »

Hi, Cochise54+.

The answer to your questions has been given in this post e.g. Re: Unexpected packages updates.
Quoting the relevant parts of this post here for your convenience:
karlchen wrote: Fri Aug 27, 2021 7:13 amI can truthfully assure you that precisely this is never going to happen.
petermrg wrote: Fri Aug 27, 2021 6:50 amSometimes I get update notifications for packages that aren't installed in my system
Update Manager only offers available updates for software, which has already been installed on your system.

You do not have to trust my words. Instead make all the available columns visible under Update Manager View Visible Columns, specifically the column "Old Version".