Help on the log entry

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
akhir
Level 1
Level 1

Help on the log entry

Post by akhir »

Hi guys
a newbie here.. install mint 20.2 couple of days ago using my old xp pc
only today manage to have a look at the logs

there are few entries under the important categories
checked and can see online that the issues are quite well discussed

however under one of the entries cannot find anybody else complaining:
sender: sudo
myusername: a password is required ; TTY=unknown ; PWD=/home/myusername ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/sbin/hddtemp -nq -u C /dev/sda
priority: 1

is this something i should be concerned of?

TIA for help
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Aztaroth
Level 5
Level 5

Re: Help on the log entry

Post by Aztaroth »

Hello,
It's a security warning. You probably checked the automatic login at install and the system tells you there may be an issue because any one can have an access to your computer's files.

But if you're happy with it because you live in a dungeon or a fortress :D , you can skip this warning.
dual boot LMDE4 (mostly) + LM19.3 Cinnamon (sometimes)
akhir
Level 1
Level 1

Post by akhir »

thanks Aztaroth
but i remember quite clearly i didnt enable autologin during the installation or at any other point
what should i do next ? any advice?
Aztaroth
Level 5
Level 5

Post by Aztaroth »