[SOLVED] Screen Freeze when I open any Browser

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
ChicagoSteve
Level 1
Level 1

[SOLVED] Screen Freeze when I open any Browser

Post by ChicagoSteve »

I also have a problem with my screen freezing.

First, an apology/explanation: I'm very new to Linux although I've used MS systems (DOS and Windows) for many years. I do hope I'm replying in the proper method; this is my first time on this forum.

I installed Linux Mint 20.2 on two computers, one is a little notebook I use to experiment (Toshiba NB-255 with only 2GB of RAM) and the other is my main computer (Toshiba C655D with 8GB of RAM). Both were upgraded from Windows 7 to Windows 10, and I installed Linux Mint as a dual boot on both computers. I downloaded Linux Mint from the official site to a USB flash drive using Etcher. Both installations seemed fine. The only difference I see in the installations is that the NB-255 has Cinnamon 5.0.7 while the Satellite has Cinnamon 5.0.4. (The first flash drive I used on the NB-255 would not boot up, so I made a different installation to a different USB flash drive.

All is fine with the NB-255: I can surf the web, I downloaded pdf arranger, and I can install updates. (I'm loving Linux Mint.) Unfortunately, on the Satellite, anytime I try to do anything online, the computer freezes: this includes any browsing, installing pdf arranger, and installing updates. (The mouse doesn't work, and the cursor is stationary.)