excess mounting is not cool

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
actaea
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 10:49 am

excess mounting is not cool

Postby actaea » Wed Jul 04, 2007 1:27 am

Linuxmint seems to want to mount all my partitions in the /media directory. I edited /etc/fstab to get this to stop, but my partitions still clutter my desktop.

How do I stop this behavior? I want nothing mounted but the / partition.

User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2363
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby Boo » Wed Jul 04, 2007 1:34 am

if you cleaned out your fstab file then it is mintdisk mounting the partitions.

so administration-->mintDisk or control center --> mintDisk

un-tick the mount fat32 and mount ntfs boxes and OK.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Thu Jul 05, 2007 6:35 am

It's a bit more to this than Boo saw.
Disks (partitions) are supposed to be mounted in /media!
What did you do to your fstab?
If you mess around to much with fstab you end up not being able to boot.
mintDisk does not! mount anything but ntfs and FAT32
If that's what you don't want mounted follow Boo's advice
If it's other file systems you have to edit fstab (carefully)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

baomike
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 4:55 pm

mounting /dev/hdd1

Postby baomike » Sat Jul 07, 2007 12:53 am

I thought an entry in fstab would cause a dev to be mounted. Is this maybe not true. I have yet to get /dev/hdd1 mounted on /ntfs1 even though I have added it fstab. I can manually mount it but it should happen at boot.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Sat Jul 07, 2007 5:17 am

@ baomike
mintDisk
I think Clem will explain mintDisk shortly in the newsletter or the magazine
Basically any partition mentioned in any way in fstab does not get mounted (and it's only FAT and ntfs in mintDisk)
I have yet to get /dev/hdd1 mounted on /ntfs1 even though I have added it fstab.

So remove it from fstab and mintDisk will automount it
You should only mount in /media (usually)
/media/hdd1 or whatever your drive is
The reason it does not get mounted by fstab is probably that the folder /nfts1 does not exist
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

baomike
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 4:55 pm

mounting /dev/hd1

Postby baomike » Sun Jul 08, 2007 2:46 pm

<<The reason it does not get mounted by fstab is probably that the folder /nfts1 does not exist>>

Ah but it does, that's why :
mount /dev/hdd1 /ntfs1
works.

<<Basically any partition mentioned in any way in fstab does not get mounted>>
That seems very contrary to the purpose of fstab.

I assume mintDisk is a shell script somewhere . I will go look.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Sun Jul 08, 2007 4:38 pm

<<Basically any partition mentioned in any way in fstab does not get mounted>>
That seems very contrary to the purpose of fstab.

My mistake, should have been

Code: Select all

does not get mounted by mintDisk

You find it in the control center
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

baomike
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 4:55 pm

mounting partitions

Postby baomike » Fri Jul 13, 2007 12:13 pm

it pays to not transpose letters. ntfs1 != nfts1.


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests