Which Hard Drive is Storing my Files - SOLVED

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
enjohn
Level 3
Level 3

Which Hard Drive is Storing my Files - SOLVED

Post by enjohn »

Hello - I am a total novice to Linux and really need some help, please. I have just completed a clean install of Linux Mint 20.2 Cinnamon on my PC, which went fairly smoothly. I have been finding my way around and adding software, doing updates etc. enjoying what I am finding. What I can't seem to find is which of my two hard drives are being used for my main storage and which is being used by Linux. I have a 240GB Sata3 SSD and a 1TB Sata3 HDD. I have been using Windows since the late '80s so I know nothing about how to work with Linux. Please be gentle - I never even knew what a 'Terminal' was until after I had installed Linux! Thank you in advance for your help.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
djph
Level 7
Level 7

Re: Which Hard Drive is Storing my Files

Post by djph »

barring you having done anything special, everything is saved to the root filesystem, which is contained on the drive you installed LM to.
enjohn
Level 3
Level 3

Post by enjohn »