Update Manager SOLVED

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
enjohn
Level 3
Level 3

Update Manager SOLVED

Post by enjohn »

I am having problems with downloads via Update Manager. I keep getting "An error occurred" message. I have attached images of two reports in the hope that someone will be able to tell me what may be wrong. Being a complete novice, I'm unable to understand the reports. Some help, please. Thank you
Attachments
Screenshot from 2022-05-18 18-17-30.png
Screenshot from 2022-05-18 17-35-06.png
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 3 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
zcot
Level 9
Level 9

Re: Update Manager

Post by zcot »

Hi enjohn,

the update system is trying to read the software sources available in order to retrieve the current package lists to find out what packages you could need as updates, but there is duplicated lines in the additional-repositories file.

show the content of that file from the /etc/apt/sources.list.d/ location, <-you can copy/paste that into the file manager to get there easily. Open that additional-repositories.list file and paste the info here. If you see a google-chrome.list file also then show that info too.

ps. instead of uploading files in a post, just paste the actual log or error messages or text into the post, it makes it just very direct and effortless on both parties. ;)
enjohn
Level 3
Level 3

Post by enjohn »