(Solved) Having trouble updating BIOS on Dell Latitde D600

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Scoops
Level 1
Level 1

(Solved) Having trouble updating BIOS on Dell Latitde D600

Post by Scoops »

Hi all.

I'm trying to update my BIOS for my Dell D600. I've done a bit of searching on the forums and came across this link.

http://linux.dell.com/wiki/index.php/Te ... BiosUpdate

I've followed the link to the dell site and managed to get all the details and have got as far as # dellBiosUpdate -u -f ./bios.hdr-2.3.2

I've replaced that with my old bios hdr-2.2.13 and the new one I want to upgrade to hdr-2.2.16

I'm new to the terminal side of things. It appears to run through it but I get an error at the end. No idea what it means or how to rectify it. Do you have any suggestions. Find a copy below of the error I get with hdr-2.2.16

sudo dellBiosUpdate -u -f ./bios.hdr-2.2.16
Performing BIOS update...
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/sbin/dellBiosUpdate", line 185, in <module>
sys.exit( main() )
File "/usr/sbin/dellBiosUpdate", line 153, in main
exit_code = updateBios(HdrFile(options.hdr), options)
File "<libsmbios_c._peak_util_decorators.rewrap wrapping libsmbios_c.rbu_hdr.__init__ at 0x09127BFC>", line 3, in __init__
File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/libsmbios_c/trace_decorator.py", line 98, in trace
result = func(*args, **kw)
File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/libsmbios_c/rbu_hdr.py", line 55, in __init__
self.fd = open(filename, "rb")
IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: './bios.hdr-2.2.16'