Linux Mint 21.1 Cinnamon - customization after fresh installation

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
N2LM21
Level 2
Level 2

Linux Mint 21.1 Cinnamon - customization after fresh installation

Post by N2LM21 »

Hello everyone.

Newbie here, after a fresh installation of Mint "Vera" (21.1 / Cinnamon / 64bit).
I have been searching around the paramters, in the forums and in the web, but I could not find some customizations I was looking for, and that starts becoming an issue ... so I try to write here my questions, in the hope that you can address me to the right resources / answers. Thank you in advance for any support you could provide.

My situation: laptop often connected to external keyboard / display (I would call it "desktop setup"). Laptop bought in one country (= keyboard layout "A"), external keyboard from another country (= keyboard layout "B"). Internal screen FHD 15" vs external display FHD 24"; mirrored.

Questions:

a) I cannot find how to switch the keyboard layout on the Mint login screen. I could find how to display the current layout in use, but not how to change from "A" to "B" or viceversa, depending if I am using the internal or the external keyboard. Any suggestions? If there is no easy (consindering the noob level here) solution, I was thinking about a activating a virtual keyboard on the screen ... again, I can find how to enable it in the desktop, but not on the login screen ...