[SOLVED] About reinstalling Mint8 x64...

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
enchance
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 3:36 am
Contact:

[SOLVED] About reinstalling Mint8 x64...

Post by enchance » Sat Jan 02, 2010 10:01 am

I'll be making a reinstall of Mint8 x64 within the next few days so I thought I'd ask the Mint community a few questions before I actually do it
  1. My notebook has 4GB DDR3 of RAM, will using x64 make that much of a difference over 32bit ? I don't mind switching to 32bit if there's almost no difference.
  2. Assuming I use 32bit instead, what's your suggested swap size considering I already have 4GB of memory? Is it still even required even if I already have that much ram?
  3. I realize now that my partitions are too much (x64): / 40GB, /home 400GB, /swap 8GB. What am I doing wrong?
  4. Lastly, what's the maximum memory for Mint8 x64 again? :mrgreen:
Last edited by enchance on Sun Jan 03, 2010 12:07 pm, edited 3 times in total.
It's not that hard to train a pengiun to do stunts. Just say, sudo roll-over or sudo play-dead.
Caffeine-induced designs by http://www.johnimbong.com


Image

User avatar
richyrich
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9006
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: About reinstalling Mint8 x64...

Post by richyrich » Sat Jan 02, 2010 10:33 am

..
Last edited by richyrich on Sun Jan 03, 2010 3:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
enchance
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 3:36 am
Contact:

Re: About reinstalling Mint8 x64...

Post by enchance » Sat Jan 02, 2010 11:21 am

richyrich wrote: 2) If you are going to use suspend/hibernate, you will want 2x your RAM. If not, then some members have used 256 or 512 Mb (you DO need one)
I guess I'll use 512mb then. My notebook's max is 4GB and I already have 4GB. Do you recommend setting swappiness to 0 since I'm already maxed out?
richyrich wrote: my /data has ALL my stuff and backups, I never have to format it, just mount it during the partitioning stage of a fresh install
You mean you can make extra partitions and call them whatever, such as /data? Woah. I didn't know that. :o
It's not that hard to train a pengiun to do stunts. Just say, sudo roll-over or sudo play-dead.
Caffeine-induced designs by http://www.johnimbong.com


Image

User avatar
richyrich
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9006
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: About reinstalling Mint8 x64...

Post by richyrich » Sat Jan 02, 2010 11:24 am

..
Last edited by richyrich on Sun Jan 03, 2010 3:04 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
enchance
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 3:36 am
Contact:

Re: About reinstalling Mint8 x64...

Post by enchance » Sat Jan 02, 2010 11:49 am

richyrich wrote:I've left free space, in case I want to install another distro, or another partition, or whatever, as I can come back to Gparted, and create more ! :)
A picture says a thousand words indeed! Your partitions look great. Although, is it better to have /swap placed first instead of /?
It's not that hard to train a pengiun to do stunts. Just say, sudo roll-over or sudo play-dead.
Caffeine-induced designs by http://www.johnimbong.com


Image

User avatar
richyrich
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9006
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: About reinstalling Mint8 x64...

Post by richyrich » Sat Jan 02, 2010 11:59 am

If I am wrong, someone, please correct me !

edit - removed to prevent more confusion.
Last edited by richyrich on Sat Jan 02, 2010 3:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
enchance
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 3:36 am
Contact:

Re: About reinstalling Mint8 x64...

Post by enchance » Sat Jan 02, 2010 12:04 pm

richyrich wrote:If you are low on RAM, and are likely to be using swap, then mount it at the end of the partitions, which is fastest. (closer to the outside of the actual disk)
This is where I get confused. Using the livecd, my partitions are setup in this order: / then /home then /swap. Are you saying /swap will be the fastest to access since it's the last partition I made or is it the other way around? By "last" I mean that /swap is at the very bottom when I fix my partitions using the livecd.
It's not that hard to train a pengiun to do stunts. Just say, sudo roll-over or sudo play-dead.
Caffeine-induced designs by http://www.johnimbong.com


Image

User avatar
richyrich
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9006
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: About reinstalling Mint8 x64...

Post by richyrich » Sat Jan 02, 2010 12:28 pm

edit - removed to prevent more confusion.
Last edited by richyrich on Sat Jan 02, 2010 3:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
gn2
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 886
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 5:54 am
Location: Bonnie Scotland

Re: About reinstalling Mint8 x64...

Post by gn2 » Sat Jan 02, 2010 1:00 pm

enchance wrote:I'll be making a reinstall of Mint8 x64 within the next few days so I thought I'd ask the Mint community a few questions before I actually do it
  1. My notebook has 4GB DDR3 of RAM, will using x64 make that much of a difference over 32bit ? I don't mind switching to 32bit if there's almost no difference.
  2. Assuming I use 32bit instead, what's your suggested swap size considering I already have 4GB of memory? Is it still even required even if I already have that much ram?
  3. I realize now that my partitions are too much (x64): / 40GB, /home 400GB, /swap 8GB. What am I doing wrong?
  4. Lastly, what's the maximum memory for Mint8 x64 again? :mrgreen:
1: Using 64 will allow encoding tasks to complete significantly faster.
2: with 4gb of RAM you'll not need more than 4gb of swap.
3: Nothing, that looks fine.
4: More than you can fit in any current notebook.

User avatar
enchance
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 3:36 am
Contact:

Re: About reinstalling Mint8 x64...

Post by enchance » Sat Jan 02, 2010 1:14 pm

richyrich wrote:My Gparted shows the "Rarely Used" setup . . and accessing my /data partition will be theoretically fastest !
So in my case, since I already have 4GB of memory then my swap would almost never be used, correct? So, I should partition my disks as such (in order of creation in livecd):
/ (fastest)
/home
/data
/swap (slowest)

Is this correct?
It's not that hard to train a pengiun to do stunts. Just say, sudo roll-over or sudo play-dead.
Caffeine-induced designs by http://www.johnimbong.com


Image

User avatar
richyrich
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9006
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: About reinstalling Mint8 x64...

Post by richyrich » Sat Jan 02, 2010 1:24 pm

edit - removed to prevent more confusion.
Last edited by richyrich on Sat Jan 02, 2010 3:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
enchance
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 3:36 am
Contact:

Re: About reinstalling Mint8 x64...

Post by enchance » Sat Jan 02, 2010 1:31 pm

richyrich wrote: swap (slowest)
/
/home
/data (fastest)
But a disk writes from the outside going in not inside going out (like in CDs). If I follow yours, then /swap would be written at the outermost making it the fastest.
It's not that hard to train a pengiun to do stunts. Just say, sudo roll-over or sudo play-dead.
Caffeine-induced designs by http://www.johnimbong.com


Image

User avatar
richyrich
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9006
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: About reinstalling Mint8 x64...

Post by richyrich » Sat Jan 02, 2010 1:33 pm

.
Last edited by richyrich on Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:03 am, edited 3 times in total.

ej64
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 323
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 7:43 am
Location: somewhere in Germany

Re: About reinstalling Mint8 x64...

Post by ej64 » Sat Jan 02, 2010 2:22 pm

richyrich wrote:I give up . .
enchance is right. The first partitions are located on the outer and faster tracks. See Linux Partition HOWTO Point 4.4.3
Thinkpad X220 with Samsung SSD running Xubuntu 13.04
I'm getting old gladly -- I don't like to die young ...

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”