Too many passwords asked

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
friccy
Level 1
Level 1

Too many passwords asked

Post by friccy » Fri Jan 15, 2010 9:10 am

Hi guys!
I have used Ubuntu before and have been disappointed by the 9.10 release and then have turned to Mint. I know that Mint is based on Ubuntu 9.10 but somehow it installed easier and is working with absolute no problem. So, I am new with the Mint and have some questions.
Have set up my laptop to automatic log in.
It is OK, but still is asking password to connect to the wireless internet, which is again OK.
But when I am opening one of the partitions on the hard drive, asking again, shutting down, asking again (saying that another user is logged in, me).
How can I set it up to bypass some of these passwords?
Thank you in advance!

garda
Level 5
Level 5

Re: Too many passwords asked

Post by garda » Fri Jan 15, 2010 9:47 am

Turning off automatic login suppresses the unnecessary password prompts.

recent-convert
Level 1
Level 1

Post by recent-convert » Sat Jan 16, 2010 12:16 pm

Another way to stop password prompts when mounting your hard drive's partitions would be to run Terminal and type:

Code: Select all

gksudo gedit /usr/share/polkit-1/actions/org.freedesktop.devicekit.disks.policy
Enter password when prompted. In the text file that opens, find this bit: (around line 34)

<action id="org.freedesktop.devicekit.disks.filesystem-mount-system-internal">
    <description>Mount a system-internal device</description>
    <description xml:lang="da">Montér en intern enhed</description>