XFCE?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
ElEdwards
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 10:58 pm

XFCE?

Postby ElEdwards » Mon Jul 23, 2007 5:29 pm

Would I see any performance changes/enhancements/etc if I went to the XFCE environment on Mint 3.0?

I've only been using Linux for about 2 months and am still learning and exploring. :)

Thanks!

OU812
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 8:01 pm
Location: California, USA

Postby OU812 » Mon Jul 23, 2007 11:15 pm

I've had both the xfce and kde versions of mint on my 6 year old laptop. The kde version was sluggish compared to the xfce edition. I haven't compared it the gnome version on the same laptop, but I'd imagine that the performance falls somewhere in between.

john

MsChevyKat
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 2:21 am

Postby MsChevyKat » Sat Jul 28, 2007 5:56 am

XFCE should be "snappier", esp if you have an older machine.

User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2270
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby scorp123 » Sat Jul 28, 2007 8:22 am

OU812 wrote:I've had both the xfce and kde versions of mint on my 6 year old laptop. The kde version was sluggish compared to the xfce edition. I haven't compared it the gnome version on the same laptop, but I'd imagine that the performance falls somewhere in between.
Why so complicated? You could install one version of Mint and then just install the desktop you want after the installation. The login manager would then allow you to select the desktop session you want to work in when you login (menu: "Session ..." ... there you can choose between GNOME, KDE, Fluxbox, XFCE, WindowMaker ... and whatever else you installed ....) There is no need for three or more OS installations if you just want to switch between desktops ...

MsChevyKat
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 2:21 am

Postby MsChevyKat » Sat Jul 28, 2007 2:46 pm

scorp123 wrote:
OU812 wrote:I've had both the xfce and kde versions of mint on my 6 year old laptop. The kde version was sluggish compared to the xfce edition. I haven't compared it the gnome version on the same laptop, but I'd imagine that the performance falls somewhere in between.
Why so complicated? You could install one version of Mint and then just install the desktop you want after the installation. The login manager would then allow you to select the desktop session you want to work in when you login (menu: "Session ..." ... there you can choose between GNOME, KDE, Fluxbox, XFCE, WindowMaker ... and whatever else you installed ....) There is no need for three or more OS installations if you just want to switch between desktops ...


Mmmm... WindowMaker. :D

For ages that was my favorite desktop.

User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2270
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby scorp123 » Sat Jul 28, 2007 5:04 pm

MsChevyKat wrote: Mmmm... WindowMaker. :D For ages that was my favorite desktop.
Yes, mine too. It offers a good balance between eye-candy and snappiness, especially on remote connections (e.g. FreeNX or VNC) or on older machines.

lemonlime
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 10:20 pm

Postby lemonlime » Thu Aug 02, 2007 11:20 pm

scorp123wrote:
Why so complicated? You could install one version of Mint and then just install the desktop you want after the installation. The login manager would then allow you to select the desktop session you want to work in when you login (menu: "Session ..." ... there you can choose between GNOME, KDE, Fluxbox, XFCE, WindowMaker ... and whatever else you installed ....) There is no need for three or more OS installations if you just want to switch between desktops ...


I'm now using Linux Mint from an Xfce desktop. Why do they have Xfce specific versions of Linux Mint, if all you have to do is add the desktop from Synaptic and then enter "Session" and enter Xfce as a choice? This is working great! I had problems with the Xfce version when I installed it to the hard drive. Thanks for the information. I'm now enjoying my Linux Mint Xfce.
John[/b]

oliverjames
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 248
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 3:00 am
Location: Divonne-les-Bains, France

Postby oliverjames » Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:53 am

Now that's a good question Lemonlime!

I think I read somewhere that the XFCE distro is optimized for XFCE. I loaded it initially and was really impressed by its speed and functionality.

However I couldn't get Skype to work with it and so am now running the KDE version on the same disk. Skype works well and thanks to KDE's sound system I can now listen to soothing music while I work and still use Skype!

With KDE it's still twice as fast as WinXP on boot and as for shutdown...yawn!

Can I then install the XFCE window manager and keep this same functionality by loading the KDE services at startup?

Would be nice as the latest Kernel upgrade has screwed up my XFCE partitions. See post Kernel V16 and Intel ICH and be warned.

Oliverjames

User avatar
trsnrtr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 8:11 pm

Postby trsnrtr » Tue Aug 21, 2007 11:36 am

So, which package does one install to get XFCE after installing the Gnome version? I hate to go in and click on everything that comes up from an XFCE search. Are there are a couple base pkgs to install that would pick up the other needed ones?

Dennis T

xxdad1xx
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 9:37 pm

Postby xxdad1xx » Mon Aug 27, 2007 8:20 pm

You should be able to go into terminal and paste
sudo aptitude update && sudo aptitude install xubuntu-desktop
This should install an XFCE desktop.


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jefferson9, kc1di, wireflight and 14 guests