Page 1 of 1

XFCE?

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2007 5:29 pm
by ElEdwards
Would I see any performance changes/enhancements/etc if I went to the XFCE environment on Mint 3.0?

I've only been using Linux for about 2 months and am still learning and exploring. :)

Thanks!

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2007 11:15 pm
by OU812
I've had both the xfce and kde versions of mint on my 6 year old laptop. The kde version was sluggish compared to the xfce edition. I haven't compared it the gnome version on the same laptop, but I'd imagine that the performance falls somewhere in between.

john

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2007 5:56 am
by MsChevyKat
XFCE should be "snappier", esp if you have an older machine.

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2007 8:22 am
by scorp123
OU812 wrote:I've had both the xfce and kde versions of mint on my 6 year old laptop. The kde version was sluggish compared to the xfce edition. I haven't compared it the gnome version on the same laptop, but I'd imagine that the performance falls somewhere in between.
Why so complicated? You could install one version of Mint and then just install the desktop you want after the installation. The login manager would then allow you to select the desktop session you want to work in when you login (menu: "Session ..." ... there you can choose between GNOME, KDE, Fluxbox, XFCE, WindowMaker ... and whatever else you installed ....) There is no need for three or more OS installations if you just want to switch between desktops ...

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2007 2:46 pm
by MsChevyKat
scorp123 wrote:
OU812 wrote:I've had both the xfce and kde versions of mint on my 6 year old laptop. The kde version was sluggish compared to the xfce edition. I haven't compared it the gnome version on the same laptop, but I'd imagine that the performance falls somewhere in between.
Why so complicated? You could install one version of Mint and then just install the desktop you want after the installation. The login manager would then allow you to select the desktop session you want to work in when you login (menu: "Session ..." ... there you can choose between GNOME, KDE, Fluxbox, XFCE, WindowMaker ... and whatever else you installed ....) There is no need for three or more OS installations if you just want to switch between desktops ...
Mmmm... WindowMaker. :D

For ages that was my favorite desktop.

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2007 5:04 pm
by scorp123
MsChevyKat wrote: Mmmm... WindowMaker. :D For ages that was my favorite desktop.
Yes, mine too. It offers a good balance between eye-candy and snappiness, especially on remote connections (e.g. FreeNX or VNC) or on older machines.

Posted: Thu Aug 02, 2007 11:20 pm
by lemonlime
scorp123wrote:
Why so complicated? You could install one version of Mint and then just install the desktop you want after the installation. The login manager would then allow you to select the desktop session you want to work in when you login (menu: "Session ..." ... there you can choose between GNOME, KDE, Fluxbox, XFCE, WindowMaker ... and whatever else you installed ....) There is no need for three or more OS installations if you just want to switch between desktops ...
I'm now using Linux Mint from an Xfce desktop. Why do they have Xfce specific versions of Linux Mint, if all you have to do is add the desktop from Synaptic and then enter "Session" and enter Xfce as a choice? This is working great! I had problems with the Xfce version when I installed it to the hard drive. Thanks for the information. I'm now enjoying my Linux Mint Xfce.
John[/b]

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:53 am
by oliverjames
Now that's a good question Lemonlime!

I think I read somewhere that the XFCE distro is optimized for XFCE. I loaded it initially and was really impressed by its speed and functionality.

However I couldn't get Skype to work with it and so am now running the KDE version on the same disk. Skype works well and thanks to KDE's sound system I can now listen to soothing music while I work and still use Skype!

With KDE it's still twice as fast as WinXP on boot and as for shutdown...yawn!

Can I then install the XFCE window manager and keep this same functionality by loading the KDE services at startup?

Would be nice as the latest Kernel upgrade has screwed up my XFCE partitions. See post Kernel V16 and Intel ICH and be warned.

Oliverjames

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 11:36 am
by trsnrtr
So, which package does one install to get XFCE after installing the Gnome version? I hate to go in and click on everything that comes up from an XFCE search. Are there are a couple base pkgs to install that would pick up the other needed ones?

Dennis T

Posted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 8:20 pm
by xxdad1xx
You should be able to go into terminal and paste
sudo aptitude update && sudo aptitude install xubuntu-desktop
This should install an XFCE desktop.