Page 1 of 1

Where's my 'taskbar' in M8 ?

Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 3:49 am
by motomartin
i'm having a bit of a problem with mint8.

been using 7 for a while - no worries

so i install 8 -nice interface etc.

start having a look round, as you do.

now my (windows term ) taskbar along the lower edge has vanished.
So i do a bit of research and delete the hidden conf file in /home and reboot

no joy.

i'm stuck - so i reinstall - but it doesn't re-install from scrath, cos it restarts WITH NO FRIGGIN TASKBAR !

any ideas to get it back to first install status or at least the full taskbar pls ?

Re: Where's my 'taskbar' in M8 ?

Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 8:06 am
by richyrich
From a terminal . .

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install mint-meta-main

Re: Where's my 'taskbar' in M8 ?

Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 8:37 pm
by motomartin
how do i get a terminal up ?

imagine the desktop with nothing on it - i can right click and get a menu and i can install panels - but i've got nothing else

Re: Where's my 'taskbar' in M8 ?

Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 8:42 pm
by beefstu
couple of options, alt-F1 open up gnome menu which you can use or alt-F2 open up 'run application' which you can select the terminal from the known applications list.

If you can add a panel, why don't you just do that? thats what the 'taskbars' are called in Mint! Then just add mint menu, notification area, clock and window list from the right click -> add to panel menu

There is a shortcut straight to the terminal, i just cant remember it!

Re: Where's my 'taskbar' in M8 ?

Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 8:54 pm
by gn2
beefstu wrote:There is a shortcut straight to the terminal, i just cant remember it!
AFAIK in a default Mint 8 installation it's disabled.

Re: Where's my 'taskbar' in M8 ?

Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 12:29 am
by StanTheMan
Click Main Menu button.
Accesories > Terminal . Right-click on 'Terminal'. Select either ' Add launcher to Panel ' or ' Add launcher to Desktop ' .

Re: Where's my 'taskbar' in M8 ?

Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 12:40 am
by mick55
StantheMan wrote
Click Main Menu button.
uhhmmmm.....would that be the Main Menu button on the taskbar that's missing :?

CTRL + ALT + F1 will bring up a virtual terminal and you can run the commands Richy posted.